Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

Bad Enough

01 October 2021 | Somers Cove, Crisfield, MD
Cap'n Chef Andy | Perfect Weather
I began asking around, making phone calls, visiting websites, looking for a way to dispose of my 20 gallons or so of 3 year old gasoline that I pumped out of the fuel tank. By chance I met an old fellow who was looking at a skiff-like boat for sale on a trailer in the marina. We chatted and the subject of old gas came up and he said he had disposed of 200 gallons of old fuel from a houseboat. The marina, which is run by the Dept. of Natural Resources helped him find a service to remove the fuel.
.
I tried calling DNR and the lady who answered disconnected the call when she tried to transfer me. This happened again and again. Finally I was able to speak to someone and they said they do not do anything with old fuel. I called the contact person of Somerset County recycling and he affirmed Somerset has no Hazardous Household Waste program, which would include old gasoline. He did know of a company that removes fuel tanks from gas stations when they have to replace their tanks and he provided a name and a number. I called them, West Fuel Services, and found they would take my old fuel for a reasonable fee or they could come and get it with their big truck for a rather larger fee. I contacted Eve, the artist, about hiring her to transport my old fuel to West’s business up near Salisbury, up near Tall Tales, our favorite bistro up that way.
.
Eve was staining her back steps when I arrived by bicycle. Although we had mostly blue sky above, rain started falling. Eve put her stuff away and said she couldn’t paint in the rain. We rode to the marina where I had stashed 20 one gallon jugs of old fuel at the head of K dock. We loaded the fuel into her huge SUV and took off for the fuel disposal company. When I called them I was told the fuel recovery truck was up in Ocean City, could I do it some other day? After some pleading I would be allowed to drop off the jugs of gasoline at the business site and it would be disposed some time later. The address was in a town called Snow Hill, it was not in Salisbury, and it was quite a ways away.
.
Snow Hill is a very pretty town with some nice restaurants. It is adjacent to Pocomoke River State Park. Beautiful country up there. After dropping off the fuel we decided to cross the peninsula to Salisbury and have lunch at Tall Tales. I was going to reimburse Eve for her fuel and her time, but she said the lunch was enough. We returned to Crisfield and took a back road. A jeep vehicle was following us and Eve said I wonder if that is Diana. Yes it was. We were now headed to the Legion.
.
Diana had been away for about a week and the time was right to commiserate at the Legion over a glass of wine or two. Cuddily showed up with Teri a short time later. It was the Bad Crowd back together. I had ridden over on my bike so that I could return directly to the marina. Back on board I slept without the smell of stale gasoline. My allergic congestion that had been persistent was now gone.
.
I had the new fuel gauge sender delivered on CM’s porch. Eve texted me about her old computer. It was all on Cove St., her back steps were newly painted. I called her from the backyard, yes, I could come in. We went upstairs to the room where the computer was, would it respond. It slowly booted up. I attached old style keyboard and mouse to the pink and purple ports on the back of the computer.. It booted up after a while.
.
She was interested in saving a bunch of old pictures. We got into her previous life, llamas, a farm in upstate New York. Fingerlakes, snow, Amish houses, farms, some vistas that were not breathtaking, but soul taking. We ended up copying the whole pictures folder to a thumb drive. We had about 45 minutes, acording to Windows, and had to go to the wine store for some bottles of wine, or a box, or two. We returned and went upstairs to see if the computer was done copying, it was. I powered it down, removed the sides of the case and removed the hard drive. The computer was ready to be donated.
.
Karen arrived and we went to an open house event, a motel near the marina was reopening with a new name. There were speeches and a ton of food and drink. It was a beautiful day, a crowd of people, a superspreader event.
.
When I returned to the marina it was dark and a beautiful crab boat was lit up with blue interior lights. The image is of that boat.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups