Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler

29 May 2022 | St. Marys, GA
Cap'n Chef Andy | Hot Afternoons, Thunderstorms
Big Dave was getting ready to drive off for a long vacation from the boatyard, I probably won't see him again for a long time, so I invited him out for a go away late lunch. When we returned, we took the back way into the North side of the boatyard where the big crane was situated with a large wooden motor yacht. It was pointed out to me that the crane was bent. It will be a tall task to repair the crane. My decision to drive up to Crisfield rather than launch the catamaran looks like a good choice right now. I'm sure it will be repaired in time for launch in the fall. I believe the failure of the crane was due to metal fatigue, not misoperation. It was explained to me that the failure on modern cranes results in the boom partially collapsing, permanently bending, rather than the crane tipping over.
.
The cost of repair includes disassembly, replacement of the damaged portion of the boom, and certification of the crane's capacity, all done by expensive proprietary crane engineers, plus transportation costs. It was explained to me that the down time is long and customers have already been waiting for crane work to haul out multihulls and mast removals. The boatyard will purchase a replacement crane and have operations back to normal within about a month.
.
I was not hearing anything from Eloisa, which was kind of odd. Perhaps she and I will never get together again. I doubt she will come back to the boatyard in the intense heat that is building and will last throughout the summer and early fall. They say if you love something, then let it go, let it be free. I am selfish. My heart is quick to fall in love, but loyal. A free range fool. No one is perfect. There is always the negative factor that love ignores, but is useful when love ends, the sour grapes effect. I can have a million friends but crave that special friend, above and apart from all others.
.
I had run out of wine and heeded Big Dave when he said he never saw anybody drink as much as I do. I was OK with some abstinence, I was comfortable with the decision to drive to Crisfield rather than sail. I have to stop wrestling with the future and deal with the present, the now. It is much easier that way.
.
The Wordle game is a way to connect with my older daughter in Oxford, UK, and often we use the same number of guesses to solve it and she texts me, "Twins". How charming. I use ADIEU as my first guess and STORY as my second, if the first one only gets me one correct vowel. This last puzzle got me 2 vowels in the first guess, AdieU, but I entered STORY as the second guess anyway. I was surprised to get stOrY back as a result. Four vowels? I thought of words like BUOY, but that has only 4 letters. I had to write on pen and paper and then it hit me, BAYOU, which was the answer, only 3 guesses, yay. Later my daughter sent me her result which was 5 guesses, no mention of twins. Ironically she had visited bayou country in Louisiana and was contemplating buying something there. The image is of my Worlde entry.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups