Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

Neel 51

24 June 2022 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Cap'n Chef Andy | mild
The two days of thunderstorms, lightning, and showers were ending and I was glad to get out and about. I don’t mind hunkering down below on the boat, but after a while going on a bike ride, not in the rain or getting hit by lightning, can be a liberating experience.
.
The question was, is the Red Shell Shanty going to be open again on a Thursday? I biked down there and there was someone sitting inside. The padlock was off the front door. Yes, they would be open. Cuddily and Eve were returning from another eye appointment, this time Eve was sporting the densely black sunglasses. They went to a bistro on the other side of the marina, the Fisherman’s Grille. I was already into an Orange Crush at the Shanty, but biked over to the Grille and took my position at the outside bar overlooking the entrance to Somers Cove. They showed up and we took a table right on the water. More Crushes. I had oyster stew, which had a lot of iron, Cuddily had steamed shrimp, and Eve had crab egg rolls. All good. We watched the local fishing boats go by. One was casting a lure right near us. It was a nice dinner and I used the last of my Yamaha outboard money to pay for it. Well spent. Spent.
.
On the way back I had another Crush at the Shanty. I was pretty looped. I had the idea that we affect the small universe around us, so others not only see us, they see the effect we are creating. Needless to say, I slept well. The weather has been very mild, almost perfect, except when lightning strikes. The 10 day forecast says more of the same through the end of the month. Yay!
.
The next day I was again pedaling with a sorer hip. I had to go to the grocers to complain about being charged for two Le Bleu waters when I had seen a BOGO sticker on their shelf, should have only been charged for one. I also decided to purchase an iron supplement, no more liver and onions. When I got to the store I went first to the water area and saw the BOGO was Buy 2 Get One, so I grabbed 3 of the waters. My favorite olive oil was on sale, got that, got the iron supplement, got a pack of coffee filters. On my way back I stopped at the Shanty to take a break. I sent a link to notalwaysright.com to my favorite sister who later called me back to say my older brother had had a heart attack and was in hospital in Hilo, Hawaii. I relayed the news.
.
Eve asked if I wanted to attend a Bob fire at her house and have some grilled sausages. Yes, I replied, let’s set fire to Bob. There was also an Arts Council opening event at the gallery near the City Dock, but I didn’t feel like attending that. I went out and got some wine for later. I was sitting alone with my thoughts and listening to 107.3, they were playing the Everly Brothers, Bye Bye Love.
.
I looked up Darla Taylor, the lady that won the mayor’s election in Crisfield. It turns out she is a community activist, participating in several organizations that improve education, housing, and other concerns for the middle class. Her election is a blow against the usual old-boy network of businessmen. It looks like the populace want some healing and help.
.
I sent a photo of a large trimaran that is sitting in the marina at the end of a dock, could never fit in a slip, to my friend Tom. It is 51 feet long and 30 feet wide. It is a Neel 51. Prices are just under a million, and owning one would be equivalent of owning a waterfront townhouse that can change its location in style and luxury. The image is of that very trimaran.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups