Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
11 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
04 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
03 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
03 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
Recent Blog Posts
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Day One

A Wharram Pahi 26 had been anchored in the river nearby the boatyard and was hauled out with the travel lift. I went around to look at it and talked to the owner couple. I was surprised that it had been built in Martinique in 1988. The boat is more than 30 years old.

11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Redux

The inflatable (deflatable) dinghy I had bought was deteriorating. It had bottom seams separating. It is a West Marine branded dinghy made out of PVC. HH66 is the adhesive to reattach the seams. A friend had a similar problem and bought the same adhesive. I was waiting to hear from him how it worked [...]

06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

The Clincher

We decided to go to Amelia Island for the day, probably to the beach. Our plan to cycle around on the Raleigh 20’s seemed like a bad idea, Bleu can’t keep up with a bicycle for very long and when he quits he quits. So we would walk, where?, Fort Clinch State Park. She has a forever pass for Florida [...]

26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Zen and Bike Maintenance

Eloisa rolled into the boatyard after a long drive down from the mountains. It was getting cold and isolated up there. I had a nasty toothache and we went to Southern River Walk. Bleu, her black American cocker was showing a bit of plumpness. I had had a sandwich and some wine already, so I didn’t [...]

FDA BAD

07 April 2023 | St. Marys, GA
Cap'n Chef Andy | Hot, like summer elsewhere
The Dick Tracy image showing a wrist TV must have been thought of as fanciful way back when it was first drawn. The reality now is more incredible and in the future when AI is implemented, hard to imagine. The Galaxy Watch 4 Classic that I purchased isn’t here yet, but looking at reviews and the many YouTube videos of its features astonishes me. The watch will monitor your body and senses what you are up to, then starts measuring. Steps if you are walking, heart rate, blood oxygen level, blood pressure, it can serve as a sleep monitor, allow you to control your phone via bluetooth and answer calls and messages, and send out, view photos, control the phone’s camera, play music, etc. etc.
.
If the watch has LTE it can be set up to make calls without needing your phone. It is not a common feature and I don’t expect my phone to have it. I checked with my carrier and it is no extra charge.
.
The next day was a notification that the watch was out for delivery, which for us boatyarders means we have to pick it up at the post office. I needed to go shopping for a few items anyway, so we went out and I picked up the watch. It was in excellent physical shape and had about a 30% charge on it. I had quick start directions on my notepad, so I quickly got started and it was operational by the time we got to the T-Mobile store. Inside was a line, forget it, continue shopping instead.
.
I can activate the watch online without using the store. In the grocers I picked up more avocados , a lime, a large jar of Pace medium salsa, a package of chicken thigh filets, water, and wine. We returned to the boatyard and I continued to play with my new toy, the Galaxy watch. It needed a charge and to do that I had to go on board Kaimu. What I had there was a cigarette lighter adapter with USB to inductive charger for the phone, the adapter had a second port which I used for the watch’s inductive adapter. There is no cable input to the watch, everything is done by bluetooth, etc., charging by its own very special inductive charger.
.
While charging I mixed ¼ cup coloradito mole paste, ¼ cup medium salsa, and ¼ cup better than bouillon reconstituted broth. It took a while to heat and whisk it together. When it was smooth and bubbly I added the chicken thighs which were skinless and boneless. After simmering for a couple hours I just had to taste it and it tasted great. So simple and so good.
.
Big Dave was back in the yard and although later he said he just wanted to take a rest after a long drive from N. Carolina, I somehow convinced him to go to Happy Hour at the Southern River Walk. The grandchildren aged waitresses left as we arrived, no one to ask where my wife and dog had gone. Instead we had a matronly efficient service staff who was not especially attentive to our needs. Young Steven (he doesn’t look it) arrived and a little bit later a shiny red Miata rolled in with the chemical duo, Geoff and Karen, on board. They were here for drinks only, we ordered chicken parm dinner which I really enjoyed. Big Dave said it wasn’t agreeing with him, Steve said it was awesome.
.
I found my lost pair of reading glasses in Dave’s truck, left over from our last foray to the River Walk. The next day Dave requested some tutorial on his laptop and the OpenCPN navigation program. We ended up at Compas, a Mexican restaurant, and I had the gratuitous salsa along with a small bowl of quacamole. I asked if they had blue corn chips, no. No mole on the menu? No. David had a lunch and was struggling with Navionics on his phone. He couldn’t log in and after requesting a password change, couldn’t log in then. He thrust the phone at me and said you try. I couldn’t do it either. No luck with the laptop, no open wifi. Finally I logged in from my phone. It’s your phone, I told him.
.
We began planning a route, nautically speaking, from St. Marys Entrance to Corpus Christi, Texas. He said they would probably take the ICW all the way, but I showed him how to drop waypoint marks and plotted a course outside, down the coast to Ft. Pierce. There you can go inside and follow the ICW, including the St. Lucie Canal to Lake Okechobee, and then out to Ft. Myers. I plotted the course as accurately as I could and it came out to over a thousand miles. I would expect once into the Gulf side they would just head right across. Dave said they would travel the ICW up the West coast of Florida, then across the gulf states and down the Texas coast to Corpus Christi. It could be an ordeal or a great adventure.
.
I wore the Galaxy Smart Watch to bed and it said I had slept for over 6 hours over a 7 ¾ hour period. It suggested I turn on blood oxygen next time. I will do so. What about blood pressure? This is one of the functions that got me to buy the watch in the first place and I just couldn’t get it activated. Plus, it needs a “real” blood pressure monitor to calibrate against. The problem was that the blood pressure option never seemed to be available. It’s hard to believe, but the USA, probably Samsung’s biggest market, has not approved the blood pressure monitoring function. Not the whole USA, just the FDA, the absolutely worst, lobbyist driven, federal entitly. NRA is not a federal entity, yet. But there is a work around and I threw myself into the arcane process set forward by XDA Developers.
.
I’m game for these intricate mazes conjured up by the computer geeks. Some think I am one, but I am not. I can follow instructions and in doing so I end up having to help others who are wise enough to seek unpaid professional help.
.
It is a long tedious story, but I’ll spare some of it. The snag came when I had to pair my phone or watch using an android development tool. It responded that there was no pair function. I looked at the development tool help page and indeed there was no pair function. It would be what is called a script file. Without it I would have to use a USB cable. I gave up for now.
.
The next day I was running low on ham and eggs, so had the last bit of leftover carnitas en mole for breakfast. Later I made guacamole again using the same simple recipe of avocados, lime juice, and some salsa, about half of the amount of avocados. I opened another bag of blue corn nachos, yum.
.
The image is of a Samsung smart watch 4 classic watch face from a how to site on the internet.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups