Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
11 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
04 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
03 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
03 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
Recent Blog Posts
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Day One

A Wharram Pahi 26 had been anchored in the river nearby the boatyard and was hauled out with the travel lift. I went around to look at it and talked to the owner couple. I was surprised that it had been built in Martinique in 1988. The boat is more than 30 years old.

11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Redux

The inflatable (deflatable) dinghy I had bought was deteriorating. It had bottom seams separating. It is a West Marine branded dinghy made out of PVC. HH66 is the adhesive to reattach the seams. A friend had a similar problem and bought the same adhesive. I was waiting to hear from him how it worked [...]

06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

The Clincher

We decided to go to Amelia Island for the day, probably to the beach. Our plan to cycle around on the Raleigh 20’s seemed like a bad idea, Bleu can’t keep up with a bicycle for very long and when he quits he quits. So we would walk, where?, Fort Clinch State Park. She has a forever pass for Florida [...]

26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Zen and Bike Maintenance

Eloisa rolled into the boatyard after a long drive down from the mountains. It was getting cold and isolated up there. I had a nasty toothache and we went to Southern River Walk. Bleu, her black American cocker was showing a bit of plumpness. I had had a sandwich and some wine already, so I didn’t [...]

Love Triangle

13 April 2023 | St. Marys, GA
Cap'n Chef Andy | Hot Afternoons, Thunderstorms
A small batch of mole, ¾ cup mole paste, ¾ cup medium salsa, and ¾ cup chicken stock, makes enough for 4 servings. It is a very tasty sauce, but every day is a bit much. On Mondays we go to the Southern River Walk which has happy hour from 2-6 and wine is half price. Since most other restaurants are closed Mondays, we eat there.
.
The special on the menu this week was a bacon guacamole burger. Sounds very Mexican. In fact, here is where I had chicken mole. There are many Mexican. restaurants in this area, but searching their menus on line showed that none of them offer a mole dish. The soup of the day at River Walk was Mexican. street corn chowder.
.
A while ago a blue sailboat was hauled out and it caught my eye. I took a photo of it as it was being transported to its place in the boatyard. In one of my bicycle trips around the boatyard I came across it and looked for the hull identification number on the stern, but there was none. There was also no name on the boat. Perhaps it had been recently painted.
.
I googled “pilothouse motorsailer”, hoping to come across a picture of it or one of its sisterships. No such luck. I sent the photo to a friend who was looking for a boat that he could be inside and look out the windows. This boat would fit the bill. He asked back what it was. I was hoping he would know. He passed the photo around to about 50 people with no one having a clue as to what it was.
.
I went on sailboatdata.com and searched various boat brands and designers that might shed some light. One clue is that the boat’s cove stripe had a triangle near the bow. I searched “delta”, then all the boats that started with D. I searched MS, because most motorsailers have ms as part of their name, like Bounty 32 MS. No luck.
.
We had a rainy Easter weekend. I searched yachtworld.com. I had paced the length of the boat and it was around 33 feet long, so I searched every yacht from 30 to 35 feet. No luck. My friend started harranguing me to ask the boatyard what the boat was, surely they would have a liability insurance document from the owner. That would be too easy.
.
Then today I noticed a ladder against the hull and the pilothouse door was open. Someone was on board. I knocked but there was no answer. Whoever it was was out and about. Later I did catch up with him, the owner, Kris. He gave me what I was looking for, a detailed description of the boat, where it was from, who, what, where, when, and how. And why.
.
The boat is a Triangle 32 pilothouse motorsailer. Only a few were made, maybe only two. The owner said he thought his was the last one in existence. The hull was made in Canada by Grampian, then transported to Rochester, NY, where Triangle Marine completed the boat. The Triangle 32 was a ketch with center cockpit, very different from this model in the boatyard. When the Canadian dollar rose in value compared to the US dollar, the company went out of business. The boat’s main attraction was its low price relative to its excellent construction.
.
News from a certain island in South Florida was that Eloisa had apparently solved her mysterious electrical problem on her Ford Windstar. The battery would go flat intermittently when the car was parked. The battery was replaced 3 times in a short period of time after the auto store tested each one and declared them defective. The alternator was replaced, it was exhibiting sure signs of decline. Then one morning a passerby said, oh it was your car with the brake lights on all night. The battery was dead. She recharged it and got a brake light switch at the auto parts store and replaced it. She found the brake lights were not coming on and I wondered if the switch was not aligned correctly. She went to an auto diagnostic shop and they confirmed she had installed the switch correctly, but that both battery lights were burned out. They replaced the bulbs and everything looks OK. It is hard to find out that your brake lights are malfunctioning unless you have someone to get behind the car to look, and even more difficult if it’s happening at night spontaneously.
.
I had Tacos Pastor at the local mexican restaurant and the wait staff was very knowledgeable about the cuisine. They do not offer mole on the menu because it is too time consuming to prepare. I told her of my short cut method using mole paste, salsa, and stock. Maybe I’ll do something with my peanut butter/orange marmalade mole recipe. At least I have sole claim for that one.
.
I will be driving up to Crisfield in about a week, or less. I am debating what items to bring up there. Pizza oven? If I don’t bring it I’ll regret it.
.
The image is of the lovely Triangle 32 Pilothouse MS. It may be the only one left in existence.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups