Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

Over the Edge

17 April 2023 | St. Marys, GA
Cap'n Chef Andy | Hot Afternoons, Thunderstorms
The summer weather pattern has settled in at St. Marys, cool mornings with increasing heat and humidity in the afternoon punctuated by thunderstorms. This pattern will continue with the daily ambient temperature getting hotter and hotter into May and June. The summer months are usually very hot and then the hurricane season strikes. I will be safely up on the Chesapeake Bay at Crisfield where conditions are about ten degrees less.
.
I’ve been subscribing to several YouTube vblogs about Catalina 30 yachts.
https://www.youtube.com/@sailingfujin this one is by newbie sailors with an old Catalina 30 that is new to them.
https://www.youtube.com/@sailingsole this one is about a $3500 and a young couple.
https://www.youtube.com/@tucklynniebinsadventures198 this one is about a couple getting a beautiful Catalina 30 for only $1000, except it had a diesel engine that was toast, and the husband put a Harbor Freight Predator gasoline engine in it and passed survey and marina inspection.
.
I went shopping for bread and eggs with Komputer Ken and Doc, of Doc’s Chop Shop. On my way from the bread to the eggs I saw a nice pack of 4 pork chops, so I bought them. On the way back to the boatyard while Ken and Doc conversed about some action movie actors, I thought about how I would cook the chops. They asked me what was on my mind and I said, I’m going to sear the pork chops, then set them aside, whisk together ¼ cup of coloradito mole paste, ¼ cup of medium salsa, and ¼ cup of chicken stock. Then I’ll put the chops in the sauce, add 2 more cups of chicken stock and a cup of brown rice, and simmer for a few hours.
.
And so I did. I whisk together the sauce so I can taste it as it is, then adding the chops, rice, and stock. The chops will get shredded later when they are nearly falling apart.
.
Later I had a meal of it when the chops were still intact and not ready to shred. I ate on the communal pandemic porch while a couple of kids made mud pies with utensils from the “Free Pile”. I dawdled a while, then returned to Kaimu’s galley. It was too hot to remain there for long. The concoction in the pot had begun to burn. Should have kept an eye on it.
.
The laptop’s power supply started acting up, lights intermittently flashing. I may not be able to post on the blog before I return to Crisfield, MD. I ordered a new power supply to be delivered there.
.
After consuming the last of the pork with mole sauce I was invited to dinner at Southern River
Walk. I went with Big Dave and Geoff and Karen showed up and joined us. Then Roger and Tanya, a couple who were helping Dave get his motor yacht ready to launch, joined us. It was delightful conversation. I had some roasted corn and shrimp soup and a few glasses of pinot noir.
.
The next day I went to the Jacksonville airport to pick up my rental car at noon. Two hours later I left with a Ford Edge SUV, not the VW Jetta I was hoping for. The Jetta gets close to 50mpg. The Edge’s dashboard said it was averaging 22.4mpg. I had been standing in line for about an hour and a half, not good for sore arthritic hip. The delivery of the car to the kiosk in the parking garage was a wait of about a half hour. Not a happy camper.
.
The image is of a shrimper that came into the yard recently. Someone asked if it was Forrest Gump’s shrimp boat.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups