Sailing with KIST

02 June 2012 | San Diego, CA
27 May 2012 | Pacific coast of Baja California
16 May 2012 | Turtle Bay
08 May 2012 | Bahia Magdelena
27 April 2012 | La Paz, Mexico
25 April 2012 | La Paz
14 April 2012 | La Paz
03 April 2012 | La Paz, Mexico
21 March 2012 | Stone Island, Mazatlan
16 March 2012 | La Cruz
09 March 2012 | Melaque, Barra, and Tenacatita
01 March 2012 | Melaque
23 February 2012 | Banderas Bay
08 February 2012 | Banderas Bay
31 January 2012 | Banderas Bay
29 January 2012 | La Cruz
24 January 2012
23 January 2012 | San Blas

"No Gracias"

04 December 2011 | Cabo San Lucas
Kevin
We had a nice stay in the marina, took some much needed showers got our laundry done and had a nice barbeque with some of the other cruisers we met. Going ashore in Cabo you have to really get good at saying “ No gracias.” because everybody here wants to sell you something. You have the mariachi bands who will sing for you for a tip, people hawking jewelry, cigars, fishing trips, taxi rides and toys. We had dinner at a restaurant one night and every 5 minutes we would have a new traveling band come in to see if they could play for us. Then there were flower vendors who came to our table. The one that was the hardest to resist was a little girl about 6 years old with big brown eyes and an arm full of deep red roses. We said “No Gracias “and she batted those big brown eyes and said pleadingly in English “Pleeaase.” You have to keep your eyes straight ahead and try not to make eye contact with anyone for if you so much as look like you are interested in an item or a service you will have several people rushing towards you to try and make a sale. When we tied up at the dock a young man came over to me and asked if we would like to have our boat washed. I said “No Gracias” and he left. Five minutes later he was back and asked if he could clean the bottom of my boat. I said “No gracias” but then I mentioned I needed to have a new zinc put on my propeller shaft. I did not have a new zinc and would need to go purchase one so I quickly said no never mind and he left again. About 15 minutes later a man in a wetsuit came cruising up to our slip in a battered inflatable dinghy. The dingy was half deflated so he was using the top of his outboard as a seat as he steered. He tied up to the dock got out and asked in broken English if I was the one who needed a zinc replaced. I was a little floored at this and wondered how the heck he knew that I needed a zinc put on. There must be some sort of network between all the boat workers and word got out that I needed a service and presto there he was. I explained to him that I did need a zinc installed but I did not have a new one on board. “No problemo” he will take me to the boat yard I could buy a zinc and then he could install it for me all for ten bucks. Sheesh!! These guys are persistent but it was such a good deal I just could not say “No Gracias”. We had some difficulties getting the zinc installed once I purchased it. The screw that held the old zinc on was missing so it took us some time to come up with a screw that would work in its place. He ended up working with me for over an hour so I gave him 200 pesos which is about $15.00 US. I was happy and he went away with a big smile on his face. I am going to continue to practice my “No Gracias” but I guess sometimes it is ok to say “Si”.
Comments
Vessel Name: KIST
Vessel Make/Model: Fraser 41
Hailing Port: Bellingham WA
Crew: Kevin and Bonnie Peterson
About: Kevin and Bonnie hail from Bellingham Washington. Kevin is a special education teacher at Mount Baker High School in Deming Washington and Bonnie is a self employed project manager. We have two wonderful daughters and two very special grand daughters whom we are going to miss very much on our trip.

Who: Kevin and Bonnie Peterson
Port: Bellingham WA
Email: sailingkist@yahoo.com