s/v Skylark

It's Always An Adventure

02 September 2017 | Yarmouth, ME
02 September 2017 | Yarmouth, ME
01 January 2017 | Bethel, Maine
01 January 2017 | Bethel, Maine
13 December 2016 | Bethel, Maine
13 December 2016 | Bethel, Maine
13 December 2016 | Charlotte, NC
01 December 2016 | Charlotte, NC
01 December 2016 | Charlotte, NC
20 November 2016 | Washington DC/Charlotte NC
06 November 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 November 2016 | Yarmouth, ME
26 October 2016 | Colombia, Cartagena (posted from Bethel, ME)
26 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
16 October 2016 | Camden, Maine
16 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
02 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine

Luna's Day (Not)

21 February 2013 | USVI Saint Thomas Christmas Cove & Charlotte Amalie
Luna (photo by Ed)
Do you see this fish? Pretty spectacular right? Now ask me if I saw it. Was I asked to don fins (4 of them, size small) along with a mask and snorkel to witness the underwater world of the Caribbean? I think not. Now ask me if I was given ample time to run and play on the beach this morning? That's my time, right? I'm talkin' ample, not a "Hurry, hurry, pee, poop, OK, good girl, back in the dinghy" routine. Say what? What about the rock over there with pee from another dog? Doesn't that warrant my attention? And the sandy beach on the other side of the rocks, can't you see "Luna" written all over it? What is going on here? "Sorry, Luna", my people say, "We have to go quickly to Charlotte Amalie because our house battery isn't charging and we need repairs. We have company coming in 3 days and a refrigerator full of food, so we have to get it fixed asap. Maybe you can run, play and sniff another day....please?" Wait, let me get this straight. I have to give up my one time a day to pee n' sniff because of a battery? Oh, it gets better. When we get to Charlotte Amalie and after the alternator gets taken apart to bring into a mechanic (a huge mess if you ask me), I get invited to come along in the dinghy. Great, you might say! Everyone knows I love a good dinghy ride. Except, not today. On the way there, which took forever in rough seas, I got drenched with waves, my paws flew off the floor with every bump and roll and once we arrived, I had to wait on the other side of a partition on a concrete floor while my humans talked on and on to the guy fixing the problem. What's wrong with a partition? Nothing unless there's a dog named Ashley on the other side waiting to meet me. I was so bored I could barely contain myself. And then? Back in the dinghy, paws flying everywhere and waves drenching me. This was not my idea of a Luna day, and even though my people didn't seem to like it any better than me when their butts flew off the dinghy and waves soaked them from head to toe, I really only care about myself. That's ok, right? In a dog-sort-of-a-way? Or am I confused...maybe I heard that about cats....oh shit. Loyalty, obedience, protectiveness, man's best friend....uh oh.
Comments
Vessel Name: Skylark
Vessel Make/Model: Bristol 41.1CC 1985
Hailing Port: Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Crew: Ed Easter, Elizabeth Meadows and Luna the dog
About: Ed, Elizabeth and Luna the dog lived for many years in Charlotte, NC. They started their live aboard experience in Charleston, SC in June 2011, cutting the lines one month later. They have been living the cruiser's life ever since.
Extra:
Skylark is a USA documented vessel and is legally identified by her name "Skylark" and hailing port "Boothbay Harbor". Since our purchase of her in 2008 she had been moored in Tenants Harbor ME '08, Rockland ME '09 and Charleston SC for the 2010 and early 2011 season. After that follow the blog [...]
Skylark's Photos - Main
94 Photos
Created 13 June 2010