s/v Skylark

It's Always An Adventure

02 September 2017 | Yarmouth, ME
02 September 2017 | Yarmouth, ME
01 January 2017 | Bethel, Maine
01 January 2017 | Bethel, Maine
13 December 2016 | Bethel, Maine
13 December 2016 | Bethel, Maine
13 December 2016 | Charlotte, NC
01 December 2016 | Charlotte, NC
01 December 2016 | Charlotte, NC
20 November 2016 | Washington DC/Charlotte NC
06 November 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 November 2016 | Yarmouth, ME
26 October 2016 | Colombia, Cartagena (posted from Bethel, ME)
26 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
16 October 2016 | Camden, Maine
16 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
02 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine

Problems with Sailblog Website

26 July 2016 | Yarmouth ME
Elizabeth
By now our followers on the blog might have given up on us. After almost a week of being offline, sailblogs.com is up and running again although I still can't post photos. I wrote to them last week and heard from the site administrator that there was the threat of a cyber attack or maybe an attempt so to protect user's data the website shut down while they worked on solutions. It's bad timing for us since people have been asking whether I'd continue writing on the blog and I kept saying I wasn't sure. I wouldn't have simply walked off and left you hanging, as it might have seemed I did. It's been frustrating but there was nothing to be done on our end other than wait. I just wish I could post photos of Skylark's final days in the water. I am hopeful that will happen soon.

In the meantime, Ed, Luna and I are settling in at my mom's home in Maine and while moving is always stressful, everything has gone well. We are lining up dental, vet, and dermatology appointments, cancelling boat-related services such as our Spot Tracker account (sigh), Chris Parker's weather forecasts (big sigh) and our mail forwarding service in Green Cove Springs. We have a PO box here in Bethel and that is rather startling for us both. We're living where? At my mother's? Without Skylark? Come again?

But you know, it all feels right and I don't think we'll regret our decision to swallow the hook. Luna says, "Hell no we won't regret it! All this green grass and animal smells is exactly what I've been waiting for! It took us long enough getting here, that's all I can say". Oh, Luna has much more to say but that's it in a nutshell. My mom is very pleased we're here and after Aunt Nancy ended up in the hospital last week with heart problems (her prognosis is promising) I thought to myself, "This is why I needed to come back, this is what my sense of urgency was all about". As I said, it feels right.
Comments
Vessel Name: Skylark
Vessel Make/Model: Bristol 41.1CC 1985
Hailing Port: Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Crew: Ed Easter, Elizabeth Meadows and Luna the dog
About: Ed, Elizabeth and Luna the dog lived for many years in Charlotte, NC. They started their live aboard experience in Charleston, SC in June 2011, cutting the lines one month later. They have been living the cruiser's life ever since.
Extra:
Skylark is a USA documented vessel and is legally identified by her name "Skylark" and hailing port "Boothbay Harbor". Since our purchase of her in 2008 she had been moored in Tenants Harbor ME '08, Rockland ME '09 and Charleston SC for the 2010 and early 2011 season. After that follow the blog [...]
Skylark's Photos - Main
94 Photos
Created 13 June 2010