Koeketiene on Tour

Going places - one day at a time

Delivery cruise: Day 6

Tied up after a 14 hour trip.
Mostly motoring in 'no wind', but also some sporting sailing after rounding Barfleur.
Now decision time: to sail or not to sail?
And still have to eat today.
Je suis le knackered.

So, what's the plan?
Tomorrow (14 juillet/Bastille day) had always been pencilled in my diary as a 'rest' day.
After four days straight of early rising and long passages, I am pretty much done for.
Tired and living on a diet of Ibuprofen and Dafalgan.
That's no way to live.

Weather forecasts on the VHF had me worried about the next couple of days. Whilst I could do with a rest, I don't fancy being stuck in Cherbourg for days on end.
The next leg is the longest one: Cherbourg to Roscoff -> 120NM.
For planning purposes, I take 5.5kts as average speed. And it's been pretty much spot on so far.
That would mean a 22 hour passage.

Upon closer inspection, if I were to sail tomorrow it seems the worst would hit me off northern Finistere night Tuesday/Wednesday.
A cruising ground I am not familiar with, a boat I am still getting to know and then 20+ kts of wind... in the dark.
I don't think so.

The long and short of it is: I am staying in tomorrow.
Sleeping in, finally showering (I must reek a mile in the wind by now), some shopping for food and resting.
Plan to catch the tide Wednesday morning (around 09H00), which should mean I would hit Roscoff 6 or 7 am Thursday morning.
In daylight.

After that, it's only 3 more short hops till home: L'Aberwrach, Camaret and home.

Comments