Koeketiene on Tour

Going places - one day at a time

Housekeeping

No sailing these last few days, but that does not mean there was no activity on the boat front. Quite on the contrary.

Two days were taken up by 'housekeeping'. I had set sail from Holland with every bit of boat kit stacked and stored wherever I could find a bit of room.

The fore cabin was taken up almost exclusively by sails. So many sails. More sails than I can envisage ever needing.
Clearing out the fore cabin took up the better part of an afternoon. Removed one mouldy spinnaker, one huge Number 1 genoa, and a seemingly barely used storm jib.
Sails left aboard are: a Number 2 genoa and a spinnaker seemingly in good condition. Although I am not really sure whether it actually is a spinnaker or a gennaker. It has a 'red' and a 'green' bottom corner, yet one corner is marked 'clew' and the other one is marked 'tack'. I guess the only way to make sure is to hoist it. Also left aboard are two snuffers though not a model I have ever seen or used before. Will try to figure them out at the first possible opportunity.

Also made a trip up the mast, as the only way to describe the way the halyards are currently fitted is 'clusterfuck'. This was my first close-up view of the masthead. Whilst I was not able to resolve the issue, I now know what needs to be done to resolve the situation. It's also become obvious that most halyards will need replacing in the near future. A fair bit of chafing is noticeable in almost all of them.
New sails and running rigging will be this winter's big project.

Yesterday, between showers, I fitted a removable cockpit table. Some swearing was involved, but things improved once I ditched the unhelpful manual.

Down below, the boat is now pretty much shipshape and Bristol fashion. Sorted, recoiled the abundance of spare sheets, halyards and turning blocks that came with the boat. About of third of these will be heading for a boat jumble next year as well as the surplus sails.

If we are to keep the boat on a swinging mooring for the near future, it has become obvious that a way to keep the batteries topped up is needed. Aboard Guapa, I was disappointed with the performance of the wind generator but impressed with the performance of the solar panels. So, I will most likely be going down the solar only route.

So, that's it for now. No sailing today as the weather has an autumnal feel to it today: wet and windy. Things are looking a lot better the next few days.

In the meantime, the knee(s) get(s) some rest.

Comments