Koeketiene on Tour

Going places - one day at a time

Just another day ...

Another day afloat today.
And no day afloat is ever a day wasted.

Nothing too exciting, just a day out and about in local waters to blow the cobwebs away.
After too many hours of motoring during the delivery trip, it was a welcome change to be just sailing.
And today was just bliss.

A thought that sometimes crosses my mind when out sailing is: "I wonder what the poor people are doing right now". And this
was the case today.
My bank account may tell a different story, but I do own a lovely sailboat and therefore I consider myself rich (and lucky) beyond measure.

Koeketiene and me... It was not exactly love at first sight. However, every time I take her out, I am falling more and more in love with her.
She is and will be my last boat.
I intend to keep her at least as long as I kept Guapa (longer if my body allows).
I'll be 70 by then. We'll see where we are at that time.
In the mean time, plenty of adventures ahead.

Also nice to see after so many days out alone is that the crew dynamics are starting to return. I can't begin to express how pleased I am about this.
I can handle/sail Koektiene on my own, but what are all these great moments out sailing when you have no one to share them with?
As you may be able to tell, there is a newfound joie de vivre in my life now that I have my boat near me.
Ultimate joy and freedom not even a 30 minutes drive from my house. No Covid19, no face masks, no 'social distancing', no nothing...
Just sailing.
My joy, my passion, my raison d'être.

"If a man must be obsessed by something, I suppose a boat is as good as anything, perhaps a bit better than most. A small sailing craft is not only beautiful, it is seductive and full of strange promise and the hint of trouble."
E.B. White

Comments