Koeketiene on Tour

Going places - one day at a time

Let there be solar

Solar panels are - at long last - in place.140W worth.
Chief Engineer once again earned his keep.
They have been for a week now, and I am very pleased with the way they have performed so far.

On average, I am getting about 400Wh/day. This equates to roughly about 30-35Ah/day. Not nearly enough to keep up with my power consumption under sail, but a nice additian all the same.

Under sail, I use about 8-10Ah/hour. A lot depends on the ambient temperature (fridge running), the seastate/sail-trim and how hard the autopilot has to work.

To reduce the amount of time I would have to run the engine (to generate power) there are two possible courses of action: either I add a windvane selfsteering device or some sort of hydrogenerator.
Not made up my mind yet.

Comments