Koeketiene on Tour

Going places - one day at a time

Random musings...

With the approach of Summer, you would expect more 'sailing days'.
But, fun fact: no.

Lately, we've been experiencing weather extremes - either too much wind, or no wind at all.
So when you get a forecast of W-NW 3 to 4 (gusting 5) you leap at it.
In reality, it was more W 4-5 (gusting 6), but apart from my knee and back, who's going to complain about that?

If yesterday's trip proved anything, it's that the boat can take much more than my body can.
And, I think you will agree, that's a good thing. I had fun & everything worked (and still does).

The 'to-do' list is short - two or three more outstanding items I can take care of in an afternoon.
As close to 'ready for sea' as can be.

Lessons learned yesterday:
- when it's very lumpy, I have no business being down below. Even if it's only to put the kettle on.
Koeketiene can be quite 'claustrophobic' bellow deck when she's being tossed around. I blame the lack of portholes & natural light.
- securing stuff for sea needs attention. Once back on our mooring, the saloon looked like I had lost of game of Jumanji.

I have some plans for the Summer, but nothing set in stone.

I could set off in a northerly, southerly or westerly direction. It will all depend on what sort of weather window presents itself early June.

I will take it as it comes.

Onwards and upwards.


Comments