Koeketiene on Tour

Going places - one day at a time

Engine woes

Starting the engine has been getting progressively more erratic over the last 4-5 months.
Could often take 3-4 tries before the engine turned over.
Originally, I suspected a dud starter battery.
But all the battery readings remained 'healthy'. It held its charge and voltage never dropped below 12.65v.

Then my attention turned to the starter relay. Some of you may remember this caused me trouble during the delivery trip from Holland to Brittany. However as it was only replaced shortly after that trip, it would be 'strange' for the thing to act up so soon (but you never know).

I was lucky to be able to get some professional assistance at very short notice, and after an hour or so of fault-finding the root cause of all my woes was identified: the ignition switch on the engine control panel (located in the cockpit).
Temporary work-around was put in place.
After some rewiring the starter battery isolator switch now acts as ignition.
As replacement switch was ordered.

The work-around seemed to do the trick as when I took the boat out last Tuesday the engine turned over as soon as I turned the key.
I enjoyed a pleasant sail in somewhat sporting conditions.

I always try to sail up the river as close to my mooring as possible.
About 0.5NM from my mooring, with the wind on the nose, I decided to take the sails down. I tried to start the engine... in vain. There I was, in the middle of a busy river, getting caught by the current, with no propulsion (the busy traffic precluded tacking up to my mooring).
A slight sense of panic set it.
A few seconds later, pointed the boat downriver again and the wind once again caught my sails. The plan was to sail to drop the hook close to the river entrance and seek outside assistance.
Once clear of the busy river traffic, and against hope, I tried one last to to coax some life into the engine. And it sprang into life.
I quickly turned the boat into the wind, dropped the sails and motored back to my mooring.
I decided not to take the boat out again before the starter switch was replaced.

Last Thursday I got a phone-call informing me that the part was in. And it was fitted this morning. After numerous tries, I can at long last confirm that the engine is fixed.

Now it's time to give serious consideration to where I'm going this year, when I'll be leaving and how long I could be gone.

Exciting times.

Comments