Kristinly

38' Island Packet cutter rigged sailboat - sailed 20,000 nautical miles from New England to the Bahamas. Now with new owners Tim & Susan Tiefenbach

17 June 2013 | Mallets Bay, VT
05 July 2012 | West Pont, NY
02 July 2012 | Brigantine Shoals near Little Egg Inlet, NJ
30 June 2012 | Reedy Island, Delaware River
26 June 2012 | Antipoison Creek, VA
23 June 2012 | Burlington, VT
28 March 2012 | Deltaville, VA
27 March 2012 | Deltaville, VA
26 March 2012 | Hampton, VA
25 March 2012 | Hampton, VA
24 March 2012 | South of Norfolk, VA
23 March 2012 | Elizabeth City, NC
22 March 2012 | Cedar Creek, NC
21 March 2012 | Wrightsville Beach, NC
20 March 2012 | Little River, NC
18 March 2012 | South Santee River, SC
17 March 2012 | Charleston, SC
17 March 2012 | Charleston, SC
16 March 2012 | NE of Savannah, GA

Stingray Point Boat Works

28 March 2012 | Deltaville, VA
Randy - overcast, winds L&V
The weather conditions this morning were a welcome change from yesterday. It wasn't very cold and the winds had clocked to the SOUTH, 10-15 kts. Like yesterday, that wasn't in the forecast either. Had we known that, we would have stayed in Hampton one more day and had favorable winds for the final leg of the trip.

Oh well, we're here and Kristinly was safely hauled out and completely decommissioned, even winterized in case we don't make it back down to bring her north to VT this summer. I hope that does not happen, but it was best to plan for that possibility in case we don't.

Uncle Dave was a huge help. Winterizing a boat is much like working on camper and with his mechanical prowess, things went much faster than when I have to do it by myself. He learned how to properly flake the sails, and got a good look at the boat below the waterline. Sailboats always look much bigger out of the water due to the large, deep keel.

It was a good trip but I am ready to go home to Nikki, Jenni, Matt, Marcus, Kristin and Dan, and all of my friends. I think I have failed to mention that I have a new son-in-law coming into the family. Kristin and Dan are engaged to be married August 25. They grow up so fast. Exciting times!

I need to mention here how special my time was with Uncle David. Anytime you put two people on a boat for two straight weeks has the potential for both great and/or difficult times. In our case, it was nothing but fabulous, and in fact, certainly one of the most memorable and special times of my life and I will never forget it. We got to know each other in ways never before and I count myself lucky to have such a loving and interesting person in my life, and part of my family.

So it is off to Vermont for me and California for David on the 29th. No more updates until perhaps this summer sometime. For now, I have uploaded many photos of this trip and you can find them in the photo gallery.

Fair winds and following seas!
Comments
Vessel Name: Kristinly
Vessel Make/Model: Island Packet 38, hull #83
Hailing Port: Mallets Bay, VT
Crew: Captain Randy Kruml, 1st Mate Nikki St Mary

Kristinly

Who: Captain Randy Kruml, 1st Mate Nikki St Mary
Port: Mallets Bay, VT