The Lady J's Journey

Captain Mike and his first mate Jana begin their Journey with the Lady J.

14 April 2013 | Sandusky Harbor Marina
04 March 2013
13 February 2013 | Sandusky Ohio
06 February 2013 | Ashville, Ohio
10 September 2012 | On the hard
09 September 2012 | Sandusky Harbor Marina
27 August 2012 | Sandusky Harbor
22 August 2012
01 July 2012 | Sandusky, Ohio
29 June 2012 | Sandusky Ohio
24 June 2012
15 June 2012 | Ashville, Ohio
12 June 2012 | Ashville, Ohio

Leaky ports

10 September 2012 | On the hard
Mike
With the stanchions finished, the next step in making the boat weather-proof is reworking the ports and windows. I had inspected the ports earlier to assess their condition. The bad news is – the ports were made by the Fuller Brush Company!!!! The good news is – they are still in business!!!!! A phone call to their Kansas factory got me transferred to their MARINE division (Yay!) and talking to a REAL PERSON (WoooHooo!) Yes, they still make ports for boats. Yes, they still provide parts to maintain the ports. I got the parts break down by email in a matter of minutes, and ordered what I thought would be needed to fix all 8 ports. The main assembly is installed through the opening from the inside, and a trim ring is installed from the outside to seal everything. I ordered one main assembly and three trim rings, thinking I could salvage the other 5. The first port I worked on shot that theory in the butt. The trim ring had been installed with good old 3M 5200 adhesive!!!!!! I had to use the heat gun with putty knives and wedges to get the ring off. The ring was cracked in several places since the mounting screws had been over-torqued in an attempt to fix the leaks, and the ring came off in pieces. I had to use the heat gun to remove the remaining adhesive and clean up the fiberglass. I installed a new trim ring with butyl tape, marine sealant, and new screws. I got three ports done in a day and a half, then closed everything up due to a thunderstorm. This project is taking longer than I planned on. (When will I ever learn?) The storm showed more work needed on the galley port, so off it came, and more acky-poo applied. I taped off the ring so that I’d have a neat edge when finished, unlike the globs that the previous owner had left. (It looked like he had smeared goop on with a mop). Now to order 5 more rings, another couple of tubes of sealant, and another week’s work to finish the ports. Frustrating? Somewhat, but it’s still FUN!!!!
Comments
Vessel Name: The Lady J
Vessel Make/Model: 1973 Gulfstar Trawler
Hailing Port: Sandusky Harbor Marina
Crew: Jana & Mike Kent
About: Retired Aircraft Mechanic and a retired Office Supply Rep, beginning the journey of fixing up an old boat to live out their dreams.

Who: Jana & Mike Kent
Port: Sandusky Harbor Marina