Looking for a landbase in Coastal Florida

Vessel Name: Cadence
06 March 2016 | Land of too-short sailing seasons
Recent Blog Posts
06 March 2016 | Land of too-short sailing seasons

Details of what this sailboat owner is seeking

My husband and I own a 38 foot sailboat and keep it on Narragansett Bay, even though we live almost 4 hours away in the outer suburbs of NYC. I want to live where we can sail year-round, and incidentally am tired of cold winters. My husband, on the other hand, is ambivalent about moving to coastal Florida, even if it would be several years from now. Someone (or group of people) have convinced him that there are "almost no sailing destinations in Florida." He seems to have ignored the relatively short distance to the Florida Keys from some pleasant and relatively safe suburbs of Miami, for example. In the course of the next few posts, I'll describe our situation and preferences, and would be very grateful if sailors who are knowledgeable about living and sailing in coastal Florida would enlighten me, so I can start to try to enlighten him! I'm wary of residential real estate agents and others who might have ulterior motives, so I'm turning first to people who love sailing enough to view this blog. Thanks in advance, and smooth sailing to you.

Details of what this sailboat owner is seeking

06 March 2016 | Land of too-short sailing seasons
My husband and I own a 38 foot sailboat and keep it on Narragansett Bay, even though we live almost 4 hours away in the outer suburbs of NYC. I want to live where we can sail year-round, and incidentally am tired of cold winters. My husband, on the other hand, is ambivalent about moving to coastal Florida, even if it would be several years from now. Someone (or group of people) have convinced him that there are "almost no sailing destinations in Florida." He seems to have ignored the relatively short distance to the Florida Keys from some pleasant and relatively safe suburbs of Miami, for example. In the course of the next few posts, I'll describe our situation and preferences, and would be very grateful if sailors who are knowledgeable about living and sailing in coastal Florida would enlighten me, so I can start to try to enlighten him! I'm wary of residential real estate agents and others who might have ulterior motives, so I'm turning first to people who love sailing enough to view this blog. Thanks in advance, and smooth sailing to you.
Comments

About & Links