s/v Full Monty

The purpose of this sail blog is to keep family and friends informed and up to date as our family sails the world and its many remote places.

06 February 2012
21 November 2011 | Beaufort, NC
10 November 2011 | Durham, NC
10 November 2011 | Beaufort, NC
18 October 2011 | Beaufort, NC
16 October 2011 | Beaufort, NC
16 October 2011 | Beaufort, NC
18 May 2011 | Beaufort, NC
03 May 2011 | Beaufort, NC
22 January 2011 | Beaufort, NC
09 November 2010 | Durham, NC
29 October 2010 | Beaufort
27 October 2010 | Beaufort
19 September 2010 | Durham, NC
04 September 2010 | Topsail Beach, NC
22 August 2010 | Topsail Beach, NC
15 November 2009 | Topsail Beach, NC
15 November 2009 | Jarrett Bay, Beaufort, NC
15 November 2009 | Jarrett Bay, Beaufort, NC
14 November 2009 | Jarrett Bay, Beaufort, NC

Moving On & Getting Closer

21 October 2008 | Topsail Beach, NC
Jenny / 61 degrees & party cloudy
These past few months have been busy adapting to our current & new way of life.

For me it was strange in the beginning. I couldn't get used to the idea that the beach was my full-time home. It was still a vacation home, but I didn't have to leave. First thing every morning, I'd walk out on the deck and look at the ocean. I'd take in a deep breath and listen to the sound of the waves. What could be better?! Of course, having Wil with us full-time would make it better.

Then summer ended, and the school year began. It was on to reality. However, there was still a sense of being on vacation. The kids would get on the bus at 6:30 in the morning, and I'd head over to the beach for a good long walk. I loved having the beach all to myself. Sometimes, I'd go for a bike ride, and start to recognize the other regulars on the island. On the occasional Friday morning, when Wil was in town, he & I would go surfing. Life was still pretty laid back.

The kids adjusted remarkably well to the new school and to not having their daddy here during the school week. Not to say it's been a breeze, but I've been extremely proud of them. We still don't have "play dates", but they are getting more comfortable with who they know at school, on the bus, and on their sports teams. Early on it was awfully difficult to say good-bye to Wil on Sunday evenings, but it's become a little easier. As of this week, we started using Skype, so the kids get to say good night to Wil via live video over the computer. It's very awesome! It's almost as though we're in the same room.

It's amazing to me how quickly a person can pick up almost where they left off. As the school year progresses, and as I start to meet more people, my "almost" old way of life is returning. I fell into the roll of class parent for Colin's class. I fell into volunteering with the school PTA. I fell into the roll of soccer & baseball mom. I fell into the roll of driving to guitar lessons. It almost doesn't matter where you live!

However, regardless of how similar things are, there's still an element of difference. Our life's focus is more prominent. Yes, we go through our daily routines, but we're constantly thinking "boat" while we do it. Almost every spare moment is spent researching boats, getting on boats, and taking steps to get us closer to our sailing goal.

Just last week, the boat search intensified tremendously. Wil & I spent 2 days at the Annapolis Boat Show. We got to meet our broker from Florida in person, and now we've been able to narrow our list down to just a handful of boats.

Our first whole day in Annapolis was spent boarding numerous catamarans and thoroughly dissecting as many of them as possible. In the small chance we might still be interested in the single-hulled boat, we boarded one Hylas 49 . It still had a good feel, but we're still leaning towards the spacious & "unsinkable" catamarans. However, the economic success of our country will play a huge part in which boat will take us around the globe. At this point in time, anything can happen.

The second day in Annapolis was the most fun. We got to demo sail 3 different catamarans. We sailed for almost 6 hours in one day! What a grand feeling to a couple of sailors who have been landlocked for 9 years!

Now we're looking at the possibility of flying to Ft. Lauderdale, as our broker is working on getting some boats lined up for our visit. We could go as early as next week, or possibly not until February. I'm seriously hoping it's next week, but at the same time I realize that owning a boat too soon causes a few dilemmas. Owning a boat means money out of the bank, no more interest earned, additional monthly mortgage & insurance payments, something extra to maintain, and something extra to worry about during next hurricane season. BUT at the same, owning a boat means weekend sailing vacations, introducing the kids to the boating life, and knowing a journey of a lifetime is about to begin.

Every year about this time, cruisers start their journey south. Hurricane season is drawing to a close, and it's safe to make the move to warmer waters. These past few days, I've been watching sailboat after sailboat head south down the Intracoastal Waterway. Yesterday, they had the wind at their sterns and were beautiful as they glided past my view from the dock. Today, I watched from my window. Every year at this time, I see those boats moving and I feel the need to break free. I've been there, and I'm going to be there again very soon.


Comments
Vessel Name: Full Monty
Vessel Make/Model: 1993 Privilege 482-S Catamaran
Hailing Port: Topsail Beach, NC
Crew: Wil, Jenny, Justine & Colin
About: Wil (Co-Captain & Mechanic) Jenny (Co-Captain & Navigator) Justine (First Mate) Colin (Second Mate)
Extra: Full Monty currently resides in Beaufort, NC.

The Crew of Full Monty

Who: Wil, Jenny, Justine & Colin
Port: Topsail Beach, NC