Sailing Leander

Sailing Leander

Who: Sima Baran & Paul Robertson
Port: Boston
22 November 2010 | Fethiye, Turkey
22 October 2010
20 July 2010 | Endeavor Bay, Tawila Island, Egypt
17 July 2010 | Red Sea, Egypt
15 July 2010 | 27 41 N, 33 48 E
14 June 2010 | 14 48 N, 42 57 E
12 June 2010
08 June 2010 | Sataya (Dolphin) Reef, Red Sea, off the coast of Egypt
07 June 2010 | Dangerous Reef, Foul Bay, Egypt
02 June 2010 | Khor el Morob, Sudan
30 May 2010 | Marsa Shin'Ab, Sudan
27 May 2010 | Marsa Shin'ab, Sudan
25 May 2010 | Suakin, Sudan
24 May 2010 | Aden, Yemen
03 May 2010 | Day 5: 160 miles northeast of Aden, 15 miles from the Yemeni Coast
29 April 2010 | Day 1: Passage to Yemen
24 April 2010 | Day 16: 135 Miles From Salalah, Oman
21 April 2010 | Day 13: 460 Miles From Salalah, Oman
19 April 2010 | Day 11: A Little Bit Closer to Oman
18 April 2010 | In the midst of the Arabian Sea

Casey's Contribution

12 March 2008
Casey Krebs
Casey was nice enough to take time from her busy work schedule and write the following "review" of her stay with us. (That did sound quite bed and breakfastish, didn't it?)

My Uncle Paul and Sima, who are sailing around the world, made a stop in Fajardo, Puerto Rico to come visit me. I stayed on their sailboat for four nights and it was just the coolest thing waking up in the morning in the middle of a beautiful Caribbean bay. We stayed in Fajardo the first night then sailed 8 hours to Culebra in the Spanish Virgin Islands (the ferry makes the trip in 1.5 hours, but we were going against the wind and the current, and not being weaklings by riding the big stable ferry). We stayed the next three days and nights in Culebra in two different bays. The first two nights, in Fajardo and bay #1 in Culebra, I couldn't get over the fact that I was being moved around 100% of the time. Eating dinner, my plate was going up and down, up and down. Talking to Paul and Sima while they moved up and down, watching a movie as the entire room rocks back and forth, taking the driest shower of my life as the bathroom swayed side to side??"I felt lightheaded and a little confused the whole time. I had a dream the first night that my dad was tearing around some twisty mountain roads in a mini-van. I kept saying, "Your driving is going to make me barf!" He kept saying, "Oh get over it Casey, stop complaining, my driving is fine."

During the sail between PR and Culebra, I didn't get sea sick, but I also didn't do anything but sleep the whole time and take Dramamine to avoid it. Going downstairs into the cabin of the boat while we were sailing between the islands was nauseating. Using the bathroom felt like being inside a dice shaker or a cruel amusement park ride. At least it was warm and sunny during for the whole sail. After the first night in Culebra, we (liberal use of the pronoun) moved the boat to a spot where the current or wind and the wave lines were perpendicular to each other so the boat was completely still and I didn't have to worry about "getting over it." Paul and Sima were definitely better with the boat rocking, "Ah the boat rolling is bothering you? I guess you just get used to it," Paul told me when I was trying to stay low in an attempt to minimize the range of motion my head was going through. We had awesome dinners on the boat every night and it was really cool to be able to experience a little bit of life on the sailboat. Also, I should say they took excellent care of me and everyone should visit them as the sail around the world.
Comments
Vessel Name: Leander
Vessel Make/Model: Bristol 41.1
Hailing Port: Boston
Crew: Sima Baran & Paul Robertson
About: Following our wedding in Istanbul we are taking a two-year break from land-life and going sailing. Sima is taking time off between strategy consulting and business school while Paul is on a sabbatical from his career as an attorney.

Sailing Leander

Who: Sima Baran & Paul Robertson
Port: Boston