Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Trailer Lights

Weekend. Back at the sailboat refit for an hour or two before I'm back home to watch the baby while Sarah goes to pilates. I didn't want to do the trailer wire repairs. I made several calls to find a professional who would do it. Nobody returned my call, even Uhaul. I called two Uhauls and neither of them was interested in this job. So, again, with nobody willing to do the work for pay, I'm doing it mostly myself, with some help from my father-in-law. This picture shows the wires coming from the connector and the splices to the wires going through the trailer and to its lights. It was in a pretty sorry state when I returned from the trip to Coronado earlier in the summer. I completely re-wired the front end using new butt-connectors and a few layers of electrical tape, then taped the wires together into a single bundle. Next step is working down each side of the trailer, securing loose wire and re-doing the splices until the entire system is sound and reliable again.

Comments