Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Jake in San Carlos on the Zodiac

Jake definitely has the makings of a sailing dog. In July of 2007 I took the motor home down to San Carlos with my trusty Golden Retrievers Jake and Anne. I planned to try them out on an ocean sailing trip. It didn't work out as hoped. I managed to get them on the zodiac inflatable (with a little help getting Anne in) but I just didn't have the strength or ingenuity to get them from the inflatable up and into the boat. It was a let down and we wound up motoring the zodiac back to shore without even getting them into Singmeaway. If I had crew, it might have been possible, but I am basically a solo sailor. The dogs spent the day in the motor home while I sailed from San Carlos marina to Isle de Ventana and back. That was when I realized if I was going to go cruising with my dogs Jake and Anne, I would need a bigger sailboat, preferably with a walk-through transom.

Comments