Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

The magic beans

Just before I arrived back at Marina San Carlos from my 250 mile second Baja sailing trip in May of 2007, I stopped by Marina Real (I think its called) to return the two empty 5 gallon gas cans that allowed me to cross the Sea of Cortez and back in light winds. His 36 foot boat is to the right. It was built in the 1960s to race to Hawaii. It's somewhat worse for wear, but he's got it slipped in San Carlos and evidently goes on sailing trips with it. The two old men were supposedly sailing across the sea when their main halyard parted in two and one had to winch the other up the mast to replace it. They turned back when it happened and didn't start again. Having a beer in the spacious stern of that boat and getting the inside-out tour inspired my purchase of a Catalina 36 later that year. You can hang out in the cabin and on the deck of a 36 foot sailboat, Singmeaway, not so much.

Comments