Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Spice Collection

Every good sailboat kitchen needs a a good spice collection to make good on-board meals. I picked up that Salsa Huichol at a little Mexican food mart/gas station in Bellhaven, NC. The entire rest of this little town was closed for Sunday. They looked at me like I was completely crazy when I greeted them with buenos tardes, but I got some nice Mexican treats that afternoon, like strawberry wafers, mango juice, and a lime paleta, which I ate while taking a walking tour of the town. I also have a Force 10 stainless propane grill on the stern rail which makes excellent grilled steaks and chicken breasts. It has a ceramic hot place system that catches the drippings and turns them into smoke or gristle so they don't drip onto the boat. When the Force 10 is cooking, the smell of grill on boat is unbeatable.

Comments