Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Last Sunrise, Last Morning

This is Oz heading across the bay in which our sailboat lives as the sun rises. As I've mentioned somewhere below I like to experience sunrises and sunsets. I do this especially when I'm out cruising. Why use the word cruising? Because that is a far better description of what I do. I'm not adverse to sailing and even did it once or twice on this most recent trip, but the conditions are rarely just right and I have a nearly brand new engine that wants to run far and long. Even if it wasn't new I would cruise at nearly hull speed this way most of the time on the water. Unfortunately I'm still trouble shooting it. It has been overheating at high speeds and that is just not tolerable or good for the engine. I'm having Manuel and Salazar check the cooling system both raw and fresh, and I'm mostly confident they will resolve the issue from there like they did when I directed them to the hydrologic steering actuator and line replacement. I suspect the heat exchanger has never been cleaned out since the engine was commissioned in 2007. Unexpected in just 140 hours, but it's the first 140 and the thing is 12 years old time wise, so anything is possible. If I used a diesel 10 hours a year for 12 years, it would be next to new but could very well have any sort of issue. This was, however, the most mechanically reliable trip and the engine ran totally reliably and smooth as a top for the fist 2/3 of the power band. Things are definitely moving in the right direction towards a reliable and capable motor cruising sailboat. I feel like I have something special with Oz and she has been slowly coming back to life like a Phoenix on the water. Dorky, but if you see this sailboat at anchor in some little caletta in the Northern Sea of Cortez, you will understand. Until next time.

Comments