Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Back to the Marina (by truck), Night arrival

Drove for what seemed like too long along Highway 15 in the dark with no moonlight until I finally reached San Carlos. Stopped at the grocery to get food and ice and then scored a spot right by the entrance to our dock at Marina Real. Two trips with my stuff to and from the boat and i was done. I would say some of the projects I left 9 days ago are done, the easier ones. Some serious sanding on the interior in preparation for varnish and some other small electrical projects completed. One electronic failure that needs redoing; so it is with boat refit, two steps forward and one step back sometimes, if we're lucky. Overall Oz is coming along on pace for a good old boat. So much to do still to get her ready for what could lie ahead for me or someone else. For example, hatch dogs. There are at least three exterior and half a dozen interior storage lockers that require proper hatch dogs to keep them closed in the event the sailboat inverts. Without something to secure the hatches, a serious knock down, which is inevitable, could unnecessarily empty all the lockers inside and out. I'm finally getting to the point of focusing more on the sail rig and related equipment after four years of focus on the basic boat infrastructure. I'm sitting in the cockpit presently and listening to the air conditioning and food refrigeration equipment going strong, but loud, even if it is just boat loud. I have to acknowledge the sailboat fridge does not freeze in the summer. It does so in the winter and in that event will freeze the entire contents of the cooler. I need a separate, modern, DC freezer for longer term ice and frozen food storage. For now, though, the cold plate works fine to keep the food and ice cold for the couple of days I'm here. It is a little cooler and less humid outside, but still summery for sure. Windy tonight, too, so I'm not even thinking about going out into the bay tonight. Just glad to have made it here safely and letting the sailboat cabin get cool and dry while I appreciate nature outside. Peace.

Comments