Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Warm and wet southern breeze

My hike this morning took me to the little beaches near the marina and then a long walk up the beach and back. I was so hot and sweaty the cool sea water helped to cool me down. This is what people do here in the summer. They cool off in the sea, which is relatively warm and comfortable in the summer and fall, and helps to counter the heat and humidity. The southern wind brings humidity. I observed similar in the Dead Sea in Israel during summer years ago on that trip with Edina. I used to hate the humidity, but I’ve learned to appreciate it and as I’ve lost weight and improved my fitness, it’s easier to handle. Today I saw an outboard engine repairmen in long pants and long sleeve shirt working on an engine outside at noon. It’s all a matter of adjustment and perspective. I bet Matt doesn’t sweat in Panama too much after all these years even though it was the most humidity i ever experienced anywhere during that pre-summer trip at the equator. I think we are finally reaching the final phases of refit on Oz. There will always be something, but I am literally running out of ideas to improve this sailboat and it won’t be a year or so before there is nothing more to do other than maintenance. Maybe that will be time to replace this sailboat. No, I kind of like it, all super strong and basic and old school. Wouldn’t mind a three cabin design with two showers, but would hardly use any of that, and without sails and a keel, it’s just a motorboat. Motorboats are great, but definitely not for me.

Comments