Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

This delicious pasole

Today was a better day for the most part. I walked far into town for close to two hours, picked up a nice coffee at the Oxxo, enjoyed hearty breakfast at the hotel restaurant, then took a long, kind of hot shower in the hotel room and got all cleaned up and packed up and headed over to the sailboat. They were still working on it, so I turned around and drove to my special spot near emerald cove and spent the day reading in my truck by the sea with the windows open and the cool breeze coming through. Late afternoon I was summoned back to the sailboat by Manuel, stopping at the office along the way to pay slip fees for the next three months and showing them proof of Mexican liability insurance for the boat. Much progress was made on my project list and I am able to stay in a clean, nearly finished, cabin. After dark I headed out in my truck for dinner. The first place I wanted to go was too crowded and security wasn't letting anybody else in due to covid restrictions. Went back to Captains Club and had another Topo Chico and limes, this time mustering the courage to order the pasole. Oh my goodness. That pasole. My ex father in law makes an amazing kosher pasole and this is what I knew as great pasole. Tonight's pasole, with the thick broth, fresh chopped onions and cilantro, and a little bit of lime and chilpatin pepper sauce. Damn. Changed my whole disposition. Now I am back on the sailboat, flannel sleep pants and all, ready for a good rest. Blessed.

Comments