Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Restorative sleep on OZ

Enjoying coffee in the cabin with water boiled in the cool collapseable red silicon bodied kettle from my father in law. This may be the first time I ever used it and it works perfectly. It has this well designed closing mechenism that is completely effective to avoid accidents. Our La Cruset kettle at home is not even close in terms of reliability. The top on that thing has come open during pour so many times I hold it shut every time now just to be sure. The silicon one has a pour spout just the right size for perfect control, which is just right for sailboat operations. It is the little things that make the difference on the sailboat. Hot water, a cup of coffee on board, a clean and working head, good sounding music, and possibly most important, restorative sleep. I've had some of the best sleep on sailboats. It makes all the difference in the world for health and wellness. Between the new cushons, the coverings, the down blanket, and a healthy lifestyle, I slept over 8 hours last night in practically uninterrupted segments. The feeling upon waking in the morning after a good night's sleep for this middle aged guy is nothing short of sublime. On a separate subject, I am typing this entry on a little portable bluetooth keyboard that automatically connects to my samgsung smart phone. I have reached the point in my life that I have so much trouble pecking the correct letter on the phone typewriter screen it has become an act of frustration to enter blog posts or much of anything on the phone anymore. My normal typing skills are still excellent, through, and this little keyboard that I'm using on he chart table and last night from the settee is a god send. The little things make all the difference. It cost less than $20 and claims a battery life far in excess of anything I should ever need, however, I'm charging it off the 12 volt sytem even so until the little light turns from red to green. Feeling the effects from the second little cup of El Marino instant coffee, whole milk, and splenda, so it's time to head off on a long morning walk. You may be wondering, or not, when I will take this sailboat out again for adventures on the Sea of Cortez. Soon, I hope. The official reason is I'm waiting on the new properly sized prop, but the real reason is I'm just enjoying life at dock so much I haven't gotten around to it in months.

Comments