Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

The good, the bad, and the great

Good news, we're back in the water and I'm back on the sailboat. I left the Aliner at the RV park because I already paid for tonigbt, I'd just rather spend it on the sailboat. It's already better. I'm on the bow watching the sun set. The guy across the way is engaged in a serious refit his sailboat. It's windy and chilly on the water and I'm already in a sweatshirt. The bad news is the new prop isn't right. It has too little pitch. I could tell as soon as I started using it it had too little bite. Fortunately, Kelly's in Mazetlan will add pitch to the three blades and they supposedly have one week turn around. I told Manual to take the new prop off and send it to them right away so we can get back on track for long distance cruising. The engine wasn't overheating at load, but it did get to 200 degrees F and we could only get 6.2 knots at full power. It should be at least a knot and a half higher. Same problem at all RPMs. After all this time! Oh well, welcome to sailboats. We'll get it dialed in. Many, many projects were completed in this round of refit to the point that OZ is in many ways better than a new sailboat. Manuel commented that many larger motorboats do not have the array of instruments amd capabilities OZ now sports. So many little steps as part of so many large steps, it's been quite a journey so far and we haven't hardly even left the dock.

Comments