Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Summer 2021 is upon us

The saguaro cactus bloom, the last of the significant springtime blooms in the Sonoran desert. We’ve been having 100 degree days and it’s only mid-May. Kids are on an extended stay with their mother and grandparents for the start of summer vacation. I’m enjoying a peaceful morning sitting in the backyard of
my house in Tucson. Would already be on the sailboat but for a trial this afternoon that I’m going to do from here, though this is no longer a necessity. I’ve been having projects done on the house while I’m in town to bring it towards completion. Lately I’m starting to give more and more attention to the backyard landscaping. It was always mostly rocks back here, but as I age I find myself wanting to hang out in the backyard and just enjoy. I’m having turf installed in a large area in the center and off the patios and then I’m going to add lots of new plants around the edges and between the existing dwarf citrus trees, including more of them and perhaps a full sized citrus for some shade eventually. It could be a luscious flowering garden in this backyard and won’t that be nice to hang out in as the years go by. It’s part of a larger sense of being satisfied being instead of always doing and needing to do. A lot of people have been bringing their living and focus inward during the pandemic and it turns out for some of us, we realize we like being this way. I don’t think I’m antisocial, but being social is often stressful for me and for those like me. Being alone is far more peaceful. As I get older I feel more comfortable with myself on many levels. Maybe I’m getting old enough to pursue even more solo sailing adventures or merely pleasures.

Comments