Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Last night of the first 2021 summer trip to OZ

I'm back at the dock enjoying the final sunset of this week-long trip on the sailboat. Really enjoyed working from the sailboat at anchor. Makes cruising seem downright productive and even, dare I say, profitable. Headed out early this morning from the anchorage and motored back to Marina Real, about an hour trip, as the sun came up over lumpy seas, but without incident, except I did have to tow the dinghy as one of the securing points broke. Easily fixed by the crew after I depart and I will request it be done with some beefier replacement hardware. Made a hearty breakfast of chorizo and eggs toasted into burritos on the comal, which I ate again for lunch. Eventually found time between appointments to head into town to pick up my and the children's laundry. It was piling up before I left so I just put it all in a suitcase and dropped it off at the laundry after I arrived in town. $20, done and folded back into the suitcase. Armando came by for an hour or so this afternoon and helped me with the more labor intensive parts of putting the sailboat away, such cleaning and storing the dinghy, putting on the sail and other canvas covers, and stowing the kayak. He said he would come tomorrow and clean the rest of the boat from stem to stern. The folks at the anchorage commented at how my boat gleams. I suppose I am able to keep it quite nice as long as I'm working. The folks living on boats here are mostly retirees and mostly living off whatever they get in social security. Southern winds came a couple days ago and they brought tropical humidity. Thank goodness for the powerful air conditioning we installed on OZ to allow family cruising. Though that's no longer a thing for me, the ac on the sailboat has been keeping me cool and comfortable all day and is a welcome/essential addition to life at dock during the hot and humid Sea of Cortez summer. I can feel the breeze cooling as the sun prepares to set and it was cool.and comfortable in the sailboat when I went below deck a few minutes ago. I would go out for a celebratory final night dinner but that's not really my thing when I'm by myself. I have food left from what bought a week ago for this trip. It has been kept fresh in the fridge running on solar power for most of the last week. I've enjoyed fruit, salad, milk and meats and other things that are really only possible over the long term on the water with refrigeration. By the end of my time on the water I was reaching 13 volts by the end of the day, which is full battery charge, so I'm not sure if I really need to do anything more with my solar system. I've got a movie to watch if I want tonight. Snowden. Not well reviewed but could be entertaining just the same. And that's the news from San Carlos. Peace and blessings blog groupies, if any of you are left after all these years.

Comments