Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

A moment of appreciation before departure

I'm enjoying coffee on deck this final morning. I've dialed in the coffee formula perfectly and it tastes really good. I think I'll have another. Awoke in the night to a warm boat, 80 degrees outside. Cooled with a fan at the foot of my bed. It's still not hot enough for me at night for ac for some reason. It makes it too cold and windy and loud and I only use it at night when it's othereise unbearable or if I've got visitors. I worked a lot this trip, but still managed to meet new friends, like Richard, the pool guy, who earns less in a full day out in this blazing sun than I do charging .1 of an hour, my lowest increment. The inequity is mind boggling. And there are those whose incomes eclipse mine in the same way or more.The good don't always prosper and the evil don't always suffer. Sometimes it's the other way round altogether. I follow my instincts, good or bad. I know I have been blessed and I don't particularly deserve it any more than the next guy. So I'm savoring and appreciating what I've got, even as I fail to make the most of it. Let's be real, I mostly sat around inside the air conditioned sailboat, but I also managed to go to lunch at a new restaurant El Mar, with old friend Caleb. I took a bike ride to the end of the road where it goes to LA Manga and the early morning air from the desert was cool and amazing on my bare skin. Even made it back after the bike's gear shifter kind of blew up. Took numerous spectacular walks to and along the beach. Weather was calm this trip and the water felt amazing. I cooked for myself nearly every meal and ate mostly healthy and whole foods. I relaxed and lived a stress free life for the past week, not a single traffic light, and only one trial. Now it is time to get ready to head back to Tucson and the children. Its getting quite hot down here so maybe I'll go someplace cooler next week. I'll keep you posted.

Comments