Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

To Chicago and back with the kids

Sitting on the airplane between the children on the flight back to Tucson from Chicago. I am so grateful to spend this time with them, having previously occupied the lone fourth seat on pretty much every trip, and in pretty much every other circumstance. The last day has been filled with bouts of a feeling much like I imagine homesickness would feel, after spending so much close time together, knowing it is coming to an end for another block. Recovering this afternoon by cleaning the house and tidying up from having them. The house is empty with just me, too empty for me, but much easier to keep tidy. The backyard has been transforming into a significantly more kid friendly, and barefoot friendly, space. I'm glad to be home in more ways than one. Had to have the main air conditioner in B1 replaced today. It finally died last week after 18 years of service to me, my dogs, and several successive tenant families. This comes just after replacing the window unit in the RV last week. That's how it goes. Had a choice between just replacing the compressor or the whole unit at double the price, but with a 10 year warranty. I replaced the whole unit, imagining one thing I definitely hope to need over the next 10 years is reliable AC in the house. I won't be surprised if the other, smaller unit, dies this summer or next, or tomorrow. It gave me a little trouble last night before bedtime. After comparing the old tech with the new components yesterday, and after experiencing how quiet and smooth the new system runs, I realized the thought of replacing an AC is way worse than actually doing it. Unlike a used car, new is better than maintaining old when it comes to old air conditioners in the sonoran desert. Things have pretty much transitioned into post divorce life. What this life will actually look like I do not yet know. So far its just a plain, regular life. No more significant hopes or aspirations, really, except as pertains to the children.

Comments