Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

The juvenile courthouse in Tucson

It was my dream to work as a child advocate and then judge in the juvenile court. I accomplished the first goal in great measure, holding contracts to represent children and parents in juvenile court proceedings for many years while I worked as a family law attorney, then handling private cases for years afterwards. It was one of my numerous unanswered prayers I wasn't chosen to be judge. Nevertheless, while I was doing it I became so inspired by the child advocacy I commissioned Diane Maderas, a famous regional artist, to paint an original of what was then the new juvenile courthouse. I framed and kept the painting in my personal law office all those years I served as a trial lawyer. Recently I brought it home in response to a break-in at our office building (not our suite). It is still a most precious artifact from my family law career. Here's to a life relatively well lived so far and even having a thing or two to show for it.

Comments