Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Morning light from the margarita deck at Q2

I was out of the house early yesterday morning and on the road by 8 AM. 2 1/2 hour delay in Nogales for video teacher conferences. Then a relatively quick and uneventful drive to San Carlos, arriving a few hours before sunset. Manuel and his crew were there when I arrived. They helped me unload the heavy things from the truck and left me to a clean and slightly improved version of this little casita. I enjoyed some time catching up with friends and their friendly dogs, then returned home for a quiet night, tired and ready for bed. So comfy. It was getting warm already yesterday and I cranked on the old air conditioner. It was surprisingly capable. Nevertheless, I brought its replacement, which is more powerful, quieter, and technologically advanced, with its digital display and remote control operation. I have learned through actual experience you literally can't have a big enough air conditioner in this environment. The house next to me has five mini split units spread out on the roof. It just gets so damn hot and humid in the summer. I will store the old ac unit as a back up, just in case. The sun is up past the trees in the neighborhood as I sit and enjoy my morning coffee. The sounds of birds chirping in the morning is so pleasant. It will be warm soon, time for my morning walk. There is a sense of calm and tranquility in this place that is somehow unknown to me in my home along the foothills of the Catalina mountains in Tucson. I'm not sure why. Maybe because I've got a lifetime of emotional baggage associated with my hometown, while this place is still 'other'. All I know is I'm grateful to have this balance as it helps me to be the best I can be as a parent under the circumstances. Peace and blessings to you blog groupies. May you also find your peace.

Comments