Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Good Dogs

I'm in the motorhome by myself again. Good thing Jake and Anne are with me or it would be lonely tonight. I dropped Matt off at the airport today in Newbern (about 30 miles away) after a month together. We (mostly he) worked from early this morning until noon putting the final touches on the solar system wiring. Then we prepared the Rebounder and took off for the "big city." It was 2:00 p.m. by the time we arrived and we were starving. We drove around and found a place called Mama's Soul Food. They had a nice country buffett with all the fixings (collards, sweet potatoes, fried chicken, gravy, butter beans, corn bread, hush puppies, etc). We arrived at the airport early and hung out for an hour in the motorhome while Matt made a list of the things I need to keep in mind over the next several days as I prepare the boat to go into the water. It is wierd to be without human company again, but it is also nice to have the major projects accomplished, to have more free time, and to have been able to spend the last month (more, considering Panama) with a good friend who is so generous with his skill and time. We ran out of coffee this morning and I walked with the dogs to The Bean, the local coffee shop along the water. I tied the dogs to a bench down the street because there was no place to put them otherwise. They waited patiently until I got back. Good dogs.

Comments