Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Dawn At Bucksport Anchorage

I didn't sleep much, only 5 hours or so, but it was enough to get me through to today. And what a day. I took the dogs for a nice long walk unleashed (there was nobody around to say otherwise) and headed off early. I cruised over 20 miles through this wide deep river. It was quite beautiful and idyllic. And hot. I arrived to Georgetown, SC in the early afternoon and settled down to rest until the heat of the day passed. I was awoken from my nap when a thunderstorm started to develop and Anne got a little needy - it was nice. The wind started blowing and, long story short, my anchor drug into a moored boat. No big deal, I freed it and released it and re-anchored and we've held since - I hear more thunderstorms in the distance - it may be an active night. Dropped the dingy and took the dogs to do an initial exploration of the town. It is extensive. And hot. I've been sweating a lot. Trying to rehydrate with beer, water, whatever I can get down. The sun is finally starting to go down so it should cool off a bit. I may head back into town by myself to try and find an air conditioned pub or restaurant or something. 402 miles down the ICW so far. Mixed feelings about this. Sometimes I love it and can't imagine doing anything else, sometimes I wish I had my air conditioned old life back. I do wish more people were traveling this path with me. Maybe later.

Comments