Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Beth El Synagogue In Beaufort, SC

I came across this building, which was right next to a very historic site (the original town armory, later made into the Beaufort city museum, note the castle-like roof) in this very southern, southern town. This town is so southern that I see bumper stickers exclaiming the driver's dedication to the confederacy, such as it is these days. Of course, I had the best southern food I've had in weeks yesterday afternoon, so I shouldn't complain too much. Later, while walking to the grocery and talking to my mom on the cell phone I came across the Jewish cemetary. Jews in antebellum (still don't know that that means) Beaufort. The Lipsitz family name is located both on buildings in old town and on the nicest, most recent gravestones. If I grew up here I probably would have gone to Hebrew school with their grandkids or great grankids. Anyway, it's been a wet day today. The sun has reluctantly come out at the very end of the day, but then it went away again before sunset. More details above.

Comments