Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

The View From The Rear Bedroom On The KOA Kampground

This is one of the most bare bones KOAs I've seen, but I've got a nice spot with a great view, plenty of farmland for the dogs to run free, a 30 amp electric hookup to run the electric heater, the electric hot water heater, and anything else electric on the Rebounder. I could boon dock another night but it's going to be in the 20s overnight and windy and it gets pretty remote south of Omaha and, well, I'm kind of splurging on my last night before going from lone traveling to being with family for awhile. With gas prices as low as $1.69 today, I could run the generator all night for less than this space costs, but that's a lot of wear and tear and noise and I don't want to be in a shopping center another night. Tonight I live large at the KOA. I could have made it to Omaha today but I wanted to clean the motorhome, give the dogs a bath, clean myself up, and enjoy one more night on my own. This is as good a place as there is in these parts. I stopped in Kansas City for BBQ... Well, more accurately I got off downtown and drove the motorhome around until I came upon Gates BBQ. Some places are so genuine you just know when you see them. Turns out this place is considered by many to be one of the best, if not the best, traditional KC BBQ. I got the combination platter containing ribs, sliced beef, sliced turkey (I substituted for the sliced ham), fries, plain white bread, and some pickles. Those of you who have been reading the blog and those who know me know that I've had a lot of BBQ in my day. Gates BBQ is the first BBQ I've ever had that is so authentic it needs no sauce. In fact Gates' sauce detracts from the flavor of their BBQ. I've got plenty of leftovers for dinner later tonight. Last night was so cold my propane heater had trouble keeping up with it and it ran most of the night. Used about 1/5 of my propane, which I just filled yesterday at $2.99 a gallon. Oh, that notice on the right, I printed it along with the proof of insurance form with a laser printer I brought for just this sort of thing. I couldn't get the motorhome in for emissions testing so, dare I say, my registration expired. I obtained a 30 day permit online. It lasts until December 10, 2008. I guess that becomes the official end to this adventure, unless I arrive home sooner, which I probably will.

Comments