Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Three New Trees

I finally completed the dwarf citrus tree project in my back yard that I started two years ago. This picture shows the last three I planted this week along the view fence (one of the initial plantings is on the far right). I was starkly reminded why they call this street Boulder Canyon. I must have dug up 100 rocks for each hole. The holes were so hard to dig I had to break it up into three separate sessions over four days. They do look good now, I must say. 10 producing varieties of dwarf and semi-dwarf citrus, including lemons, limes, oranges, blood oranges, tangerines, grapefruit, and kumquats. I chose dwarfs so they wouldn't block the view too much. As part of the project I inspected the drip irrigation lines going to each of the plants. Sure enough, the few plants that weren't thriving were deprived of water and some had grown too big for their previous set-up. Its amazing the 7 I planted in 2007 survived during the 8 hot months I was sailing as they had no attention whatsoever except for whatever bit of water they were getting from the automatic drip system and the scant rainfall we get in the high desert. Now they've each got plenty of water coming on a regular basis and they are beginning to look great. Symbolically, I guess you could say I'm starting to set down more roots. By the way, that's Anne with her almost completed summer shave-down.

Comments