Life aboard Leprechaun

Cruising towards our dream, in search of the pot o'gold

19 July 2012 | Bayfield and Twin Cities
13 July 2012 | Houghton, MI
12 July 2012 | Outer Keweenaw, MI
11 July 2012 | Marquette, MI
10 July 2012 | Munising, MI
09 July 2012 | Grand Marais, MI
08 July 2012 | Whitefish Point
06 July 2012 | Sault Ste. Marie, MI
05 July 2012 | DeTour Village, MI
04 July 2012 | Roger City, MI
03 July 2012 | Presque Isle, MI
02 July 2012 | Harrisville, MI
01 July 2012 | East Tawas, MI
30 June 2012 | Harbor Beach, MI
29 June 2012 | Port Sanilac, MI
28 June 2012 | Lake St. Clair, MI
27 June 2012 | Lake St. Clair, MI
26 June 2012 | Grosse Ile, MI
25 June 2012 | Put in Bay, OH
23 June 2012

Bahamas bound

17 January 2010 | Miami, FL
John and Cheryl
Cheryl's Notes:

Sunday should be a day of rest, but ours will be busy. John has to watch the Vikings beat the Cowboys, and I have to get the boat ready for offshore. I have been banned from watching the game. The only games that I have watched, they lost. I made a promise to my sister Barb that I would cease and desist.

I will be busy stowing away anything that could go flying around in rough seas. Of course, we are hoping for fair winds and calm seas. We have already put the outboard motor on the stern rail mount, and the dinghy is secured on the davits. We are not going to put it on deck, the seas are not predicted to be that bad. I have to find places to store the last of the wine we bought, and the snacks need to be stored where they won't be crushed. We will do doing an overnight crossing, so I am going to make sandwiches and soup in a thermos for meals. Scandia had some seasickness medicine that they bought on their last trip to the Bahamas and John is going to try it for this trip. I am keeping my fingers crossed that it works, if not I am going to have a long night. I will try to nap in the afternoon while John is in charge.

We need to stress again, that our phones will no longer be in service. We will be staying at a marina in Nassau, and they have internet. We will post a blog entry and update our Facebook to let everyone know that we arrived safely. It will probably be sometime Tuesday afternoon. More of our continuing saga to follow...............

John's Notes:

I've been watching "Sunday Morning" today. It's usually my once a week culture update. Of course most of the early program was dedicated to the earthquake in Haiti. How much more can those people endure? Things are bad enough there without all the natural disasters they have had the last couple of years. This is just the next chapter. What really chapped my ass is that I saw our Vice President, Secretary of State, Secretary of Defense, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs and the Commanding Officer of the 82nd Airborne all defending our current response to this disaster. I don't care what political party you belong to, why should we have to defend anything. The last count I saw is that our government had already ponied up $100M while the rest of the world collectively had maybe coughed up $10M. All of the criticism comes from inside our own country. We are the country that just keeps on giving., so why all the criticism? I just don't get it. Can America be so dumb as to give any credence to jerks like Pat Robertson and Rush Limbaugh? We might have a screwed up political system but do you really want people like them governing how you live? I'm not only mad about this, I'm embarrassed . We do the best we can and yet it never seems to be enough.

On another front, we just might get out of Miami tomorrow. It's been ok here, but we are due for a change. Florida reminds me of back home in California, minus the hills and mountains, brown grass in winter and of course ice plant. My sister will know what I'm talking about.
Comments
Vessel Name: Leprechaun
Vessel Make/Model: 1999 Catalina 36mkII
Hailing Port: Bayfield, WI
Crew: John and Cheryl
About: John grew up in San Francisco and received his first boat for his seventh birthday. He has owned a boat since that day. His father and grandfather were both ship captains. His dream has always been to live on the water and travel to new places and spend his retirement years cruising.
Extra:
Cheryl started dating John ten years ago. On their third date he uttered the words that would change her life forever. "Did I mention that I own a boat?" She fell in love with John and her love of sailing quickly followed. When he mentioned his retirement dreams, she was the first to say "Let's [...]

The Crew

Who: John and Cheryl
Port: Bayfield, WI