Life aboard Leprechaun

Cruising towards our dream, in search of the pot o'gold

19 July 2012 | Bayfield and Twin Cities
13 July 2012 | Houghton, MI
12 July 2012 | Outer Keweenaw, MI
11 July 2012 | Marquette, MI
10 July 2012 | Munising, MI
09 July 2012 | Grand Marais, MI
08 July 2012 | Whitefish Point
06 July 2012 | Sault Ste. Marie, MI
05 July 2012 | DeTour Village, MI
04 July 2012 | Roger City, MI
03 July 2012 | Presque Isle, MI
02 July 2012 | Harrisville, MI
01 July 2012 | East Tawas, MI
30 June 2012 | Harbor Beach, MI
29 June 2012 | Port Sanilac, MI
28 June 2012 | Lake St. Clair, MI
27 June 2012 | Lake St. Clair, MI
26 June 2012 | Grosse Ile, MI
25 June 2012 | Put in Bay, OH
23 June 2012

Up the mast without a safety net

20 August 2008 | Poughkeepsie, New York
John and Cheryl
Cheryl's Notes:

Wow, where do I start. There are some days that so much happens, that I am afraid to leave something out. We started our day by finishing the rigging. Then, I was able to bum a ride into town to use the library's internet service. I needed to book my plane ride home. I told Vicky that if she dropped me off, I could walk back to the marina. I didn't know how long it would take me, and it was downhill to the marina. Vicky had no sooner pulled away when I noticed that the library opened at 10:00 am on Tuesday and Thursday, but noon on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. It is Wednesday and it is 10:00 am and I am out of luck. I walked around town and found a coffee shop with internet, but it was already booked through noon. What to do? I could wait two hours, or try to nab wifi back at the boat. I walked back, and the local marina had wifi. I was able to stay connected long enough to book my airfare and print the itinerary.

My next adventure involved being hoisted up the mast on nothing more than a swing type wood seat. I put my PFD on because it has a built in harness. I took the tether and wrapped it around my back, under the seat , and back up to my harness. The guys attached two halyards to my harness to pull me up. Each halyard was then wrapped around a winch. We have mast steps going up the mast as far as the spreaders, so the first 35 feet wasn't too bad. After that, I was dependent on the brute strength of my two crewmates. I made it to the top, and my hands were shaking as I fixed the anemometer. I was afraid that I was going to drop it and then I would have to start over. I accomplished my task, and then had to face going back down. I don't think that I breathed at all until I got back down below the spreaders and had the mast steps to stand on. My legs were really shaking by the time I was back on solid ground.

We then put the rest of the boat back together. We were zipping the canvas back up on the bimini when the center support bar dropped out, right on John's head. He dropped like a rock and was unconscious on the cockpit floor. We were finally able to get him upright, and the first thing we noticed was blood all over his arms. His head had split open, but it stopped bleeding right away. We put some ice on it, but he has quite a lump right over his forehead. Tom and I are trying to figure out how we will know if John is acting goofy. For those of you who know him will, you will understand.

We had an uneventful cruise down river. We have taken pictures of some really interesting lighthouses that are right in the middle of the river. One lighthouse was surrounded by a fleet of gypsy type boats. You will have to see the pictures to understand. We also found out that we were right about the navy ship that we passed yesterday. The Coast Guard was broadcasting to use caution in the Albany area because a film crew would be doing night filming tonight aboard the ship. They were cautioning all boaters to avoid the area.

BTW, Happy Birthday Barb!

John's Notes:

Is there anything that Cheryl can't do? I always thought that I would be the one to go up the mast if anything needed to be done there. I'm the one that used to jump out of airplanes. I can't believe how easy it was to get her up the stick and it never bothered her. Do all of you guys with boat understand how lucky I am?

We re-inflated Ball-1, 2 and 3 this morning. After our landing tonight, 1 and 2 need a little more assistance.
\
We passed the Vanderbuilt mansion this afternoon. I guess they were not all that interested in a river view. The entire place is hidden by trees.

Note to my sister. The comment about trains was mainly to describe the number of trains that must have passed us during the night. Why couldn't' the Orient Express pass us? It could happen. And don't you remember Petticoat Junction? The Hooterville Special. The problem with younger sisters is that they are younger..........................

We are only about 10 hours by boat away from New York City. I'm trying to figure out how to manufacture a shoulder holster for my flair gun. I've already decided that I'm not leaving the boat without my Leatherman. Imagine the surprise if some punk tried to attack me with a switch blade and I counter attack with my Leatherman pliers. Are you feeling lucky punk? Well, are you?

Comments
Vessel Name: Leprechaun
Vessel Make/Model: 1999 Catalina 36mkII
Hailing Port: Bayfield, WI
Crew: John and Cheryl
About: John grew up in San Francisco and received his first boat for his seventh birthday. He has owned a boat since that day. His father and grandfather were both ship captains. His dream has always been to live on the water and travel to new places and spend his retirement years cruising.
Extra:
Cheryl started dating John ten years ago. On their third date he uttered the words that would change her life forever. "Did I mention that I own a boat?" She fell in love with John and her love of sailing quickly followed. When he mentioned his retirement dreams, she was the first to say "Let's [...]

The Crew

Who: John and Cheryl
Port: Bayfield, WI