Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

DAY 15 OF OUR GREAT ADVENTURE

8:45 Departed Hammock Bay for Wilmington after speaking with the sailboat named MUSIC from LOS ANGELES. It was not Stephen Stills. He was a guitarist. He said the song Souther Cross with the lyric "and music was her name" was an influence in naming his boat. Music got stuck coming into Hammock Bay and was a long time getting unstuck. I was planning on pulling him off in the morning. So after waking to finding him in the anchorage we weighed anchor and motored over to the boat to chat.
We arrived at Wrightsville and docked at Bridge Tender Marina. Now that was not as easy as it sounds. The current was running very hard toward the closed Wrightsville bridge. It opened for another vessel and Liquid Therapy was a little late to the bridge. We did have enough clearance according to charts and the bridge tender. But just as I started to go through the bride it started closing. Now this was more than a little intimidating. Sirens and bells and it was closing. Even knowing it was safe. I stopped the boat to let the thing close. The current was going to sweep us through anyhow as the boat started turning sideways with the rapid current. So I put it in gear and went on through. The bridge tender and I had a little discussing after I got through the bridge safely. The bridge tender had a strong eastern european accent that was difficult to understand. But I guess she was correct in her assessment I was going to make it through with the bridge coming back down. Just didn't look right.
So, we had visitors at the boat in Wrightsville. Whitney and Iris Smith live in Wrightsville and is the grown child and Iris, the grandchild, of our good friend Lisa White. We had much fun with Iris who is 3 years old and had never been on a boat before. They got the tour and we had a little snacks before they went home

OK the picture for today is not spectacular. It is the FIGURE EIGHT ISLAND BRIDGE. I was here, in May, at the Figure Eight Yacht Club with the Band Flashback. We did a wedding reception and I told everyone I'd be back by boat. So, there is the bridge I drove over in May that I just cruised under in November


Comments