Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

Passage - Wahoo River Anchorage - Two Way Fish Camp, Brunswick, GA

Tuesday, November 28, 2017
39 miles 5.9 Engine Hours
10:06 AM Underway
2:55 PM Docked Two Way Fish Camp

1:30AM Alarm goes off. Are we dragging? Out of the foggy sleep I look at the Chart on my MacBook and we are still inside our alarm circle of 150’ . So we are not dragging. It’s the collision alarm. I look outside for a shrimp boat. Nothing near us anywhere. I check my AIS app and it shows a boat 6 miles away and that is not headed towards us at all. I had been trying out some new software and obviously don’t know how to use it. So, I shut that software down and back to sleep.
OK morning arrives and we are almost at low tide. There is about a 5 - 6 ft tide swing and I want to be traveling on the rising tide that will occur about 9:30. So, we enjoy the morning coffee and take in the wildlife while we wait on the tide to change. We are the only boat in this preferred anchorage and it’s just nice swinging on the anchor. Also very quiet other than the birds squawking.
At 10AM we start winding in the anchor with slack tide and no wind. That makes it easy. I hook up the salt water wash down hose to hose off the muddy chain as it comes um and it squirts for a few seconds and then quits. Oh well something else to fix later. The anchor chain comes up pretty clean. Must be sand or it’s washing itself off as it comes up. At least it will not be a dinky mess.
And then we are underway headed for Two Way Fish Camp. Two Way Fish Camp is a side trip about 5 miles off the ICW. It has intrigued me every time we passed the Altamaha River. So, we ventured up the river in very swift current pushing us along. We also read that docking can be challenging and some boats have to wait until slack tide to dock. I call the dock master and get the slip assignment. We have a big target of a slip and can either take the port side or starboard side. We like the port side. Susan riggs for both sides and I try to turn Liquid Therapy around for a stern in first docking. The current is swift but I started my turn well in advance and get turned around. We are traveling lot faster that I want to approach the slip backwards with the current. There is a guy to catch our lines. The current is aligned with the slip pretty well but I see that port side to is not going to happen. I use forward to slow us down and the bow stays where I want it with some port rudder. More power forward and we slide to a stop. The dock hand ties us up so fast that I thought he must be a former rodeo star. And there you have it folks, Another docking without an insurance claim.
We ate at famous Mudcat Charlie’s and the food and drinks were good. Susan got Shrimp and Oysters with cheese grits and mixed vegetables. And I got oysters with the same sides. We had a nice cream cheese pie with blueberries on it that the waitress had made. It was all good and we will be back in the return spring trip.
Today’s picture is the morning clouds at our anchorage.


Comments