Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

Monday, January 22, 2018

Docked - Lighthouse Point Yacht Club

OK, Now we are getting excited about leaving on Tuesday. The weather looks like it will be good all day long to get to the Bahamas. I’ve done all my chart plotting and we will be steering 90º to make 65º. That’s right the gulf stream will be sweeping us north as we steer due east. It’s 65 NM of open ocean and at 6.5 knots that is 10 hours in the Atlantic. However, with the push of the gulf stream we will probably make about 7 knots lowering our time to about 9.5 hours. I went up to the Garmin Chartplotter and switched out units from Statue Miles used in the ICW to Nautical Miles used everywhere else in the world as far as I know. I reset the odometer on the GPS 1-1-18 and it said we have traveled 28.4 statute miles so far in 2018. After changing the units on the GPS it now says 24.7NM so far for 2018. I will stay with the Nautical Miles Units until we rejoin the ICW in Ft. Pierce.

Yesterday, I packed up all the sandpaper and brushes and will resume varnish work some other time. Susan and I borrowed the Dock Master’s car and went to Publix to get even more food. I’m sure we will not eat most of what we have. We may donate it to a shelter when we get back to Virginia.

I started working on the Bahamas Customs forms that I printed out today. Some of their questions I’m just leaving blank until I speak with the Customs officer in the Bahamas.

Anyhow, we are looking like we will be departing early Tuesday morning if the weather forecast holds. I will be setting off my www.findmespot.com device every hour tomorrow as we cross. So, those of you with Facebook will get that notification. We MAY be also be tracked on www.marinetraffic.com by searching for vessel “Liquid Therapy”. The coverage for www.marinetraffic.com has many gaps so you will only see this when our boat is near a shore station repeater.

Today’s picture is me, Jonathan and Susan taken Wednesday night by Eric Beare. Jonathan and Eric came for pasta night and to celebrate Susan’s birthday.


Comments