Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

Passage - Docked Hope Town Marina, Elbow Cay, Abaco

It’s Thursday morning as I write this. What have we been doing in Hope Town? We have had Deke and Chris over for morning coffee. Rob and Debb visited with us while they are doing laundry here at the marina. We talked and talked.

I Cleaned on the boat some. Went to Vernon’s store and bought a meringue key lime pie, day before yesterday ( we ate it ALL.) I fixed the horn circuit on the fly bridge yesterday. We attended a wonderful poolside party for the marina boats and cruisers on mooring balls two evenings ago.

Our dinghy mysteriously leaked air out of one side. I put soap all over it to check for leaks and could fine none. Pumped it back up and it’s not leaking anymore. I saying the air valve cap was loose. But time will tell.

We are experiencing phone, texting, Internet and foreign restrictions on TV and some financial institutions are locking us out as they think we are foreign hackers. Strange things about being in a foreign country. Some online things stop working. We get messages “NOT AVAILABLE IN THE YOUR LOCATION”. We all know the Internet is world wide web ( www. ). But that doesn’t mean that everything that works in USA works in other countries. Some financial institutions think you a foreign hacker trying to get into an account ( I am locked out of one institution right now ) You get error messages that you don’t appear to be logging in with a trusted computer. I’m using the same computer, but have a foreign IP address. So, if I want to call the institution, I will be calling with a Skype telephone number they don’t have on file either. Now where did I write down those challenge questions they will ask to prove I’m me?

Yesterday I went to a yoga class. It was TWO HOURS LONG. All the yoga classes I have been to have been 55 minutes of poses and the last 5 minutes you lay on your mat and try to think about nothing. It’s hard think about nothing. I haven’t been to a yoga class in probably 10 years. I didn’t have a yoga mat and used a beach towel. The class was being held on a wooden deck. The cushioning from the towel was not enough. The yoga teacher loaned me some knee cushions and that made things much better. A friend at the class said he had extra mats and I’ll borrow one of those on Friday. Some yoga poses were familiar and some poses I had to think about. And some I just cannot do. But with yoga, just trying to stretch in the directions of some of the poses helps you improve your mobility. At my age, being able to move is a good goal. I am a little sore today. I’m surprised I’m not more sore. Anyhow, I’ll try it again Friday.

Today at 1-4PM there is going to be some kind of a music jam here at the marina. I’m going up there with my guitar and ukulele and see if I can fit in.

There is also a big deal Country Music Writers festival next week end. When I asked the Bahamian lady that was telling me about this was it country music of their country, the Bahamas? She said, “No! It’s YEE, HAW country music”. We both had a good laugh. Check the facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Hope-Town-Music-Festival-189082474607106/

Today’s picture is the Atlantic side of Hope Town.


Comments