Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Passage - Hope Town Marina - Harbour View Marina, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco, Bahamas
12 NM 3.1 Engine Hours
8:41 AM Underway
11:05 AM Docked Slip 7 Harbour View Marina, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco

Happy Valentines Day everyone!

OK I’ve not written home in a while . I guess I need to catch you up.
I’ve now been to three yoga classes. It’s nice taking yoga outside. Nothing quite like gong into triangle pose and staring up at white puffy clouds and having a nice breeze blowing on you. I like yoga.

Other things. We went up to see the lighthouse lit the other night with two friends. It really is a sight at the top looking out at the Atlantic and to the west over the sea of Abaco. So, my friend, Robb asked could he wind the lighthouse rotating machinery. The light keeper was glad to oblige. The weight is 800 pounds. Robb said once you started winding you had to continue until the weight clicked at the top. If you didn’t get it all the way to the top it would fall to the floor. The 4,000 glass fresnel lens flows on top of a pool of mercury. I guess someone figure out a long time ago the glass would float on mercury. Anyhow, you can turn the lease with your finger and it makes no noise at all. Kind of makes me wonder why they use an 800 LB weight to turn the thing. And it has to be wound every two hours.

Other normal day activities include going to the grocery store by dinghy as well as eating at many restaurants. The dinghy is our car. It’s fun being in a community of golf carts and dinghy. Nothing is very far away anyway on Elbow Cay.

Poor Liquid Therapy has be sitting idle since February 7. When you don’t use Liquid Therapy it’s kind of like not letting your dog run for two weeks. It gets mad and something breaks.

Susan says “ Brooke there seems to be a leak from the galley sink.” I looked yes it seems the nut on the bottom of the sink drain needs tightening . I get my icing pliers and grab the nut to tighten it. Susan says. “ Do you want me to let the water out of the sink before you work on it? “ I say no I’ll just tighten the nut and it should be fine. I grab the nut with the pliers and it crumbles. And the sink water starts lying through the loose sink drain and I’m yelling “Let the water out fast” as I’m pulling the drain down as hard as I can. After the clean up I go in search of a 1 1/2” nut. There is no hardware store except on a different island. I go consult Lee, of Shalaylee. Lee has been here since December and knows everyone and who has parts. He suggests just using 3M 5200on the drain, effectively, gluing it. I have 5200. I open up my plumbing parts container first before opening the sealant container. I have most of Lowes and Home Depot’s departments on my boat. And, darn if I don’t spot an old 1 1/2” nut from a previous drain. I never throw anything away I might need. I don’t remember having this part but was glad it was there. After fixing the sink, I went to the bilge to have a talk with Liquid Therapy. I thanked L.T. for not making me be punished more than the sink drain and said I’d take her out for a cruise soon.
Today, we left our slip at Hope Town Marina and cruised to Marsh Harbor, Great Abaco, We are currently docked at Harbour View Marina for Valentines dinner ashore tonight. Jonathan, Eric and Jessica are arriving by air tomorrow for a long weekend of fun.

Today’s picture is a little after the sun went down looking at the Marsh Harbour anchorage.


Comments