Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

Passage - Coles Point Marina to Boathouse Marina, Colonial Beach, VA

Day 3 Thursday, October 3, 2019
9:50 AM Underway
1:17 PM Docked port side to A Dock T
3.6 engine hours 24 miles

OK, today we set out from someplace way back in my childhood memories. Come on Smith cousins help me with where Daddy George’s cottage was. I thought it was Coles Point. Seemed we walked out on some point on the beach. And we certainly could walk way out in the Potomac and it didn’t get deep. Sometimes a Horseshoe crab would scare us and send us screaming back to the shore. I remember sleeping on the concrete floor with a sheet folded in thirds as sort of a sleeping bag. Hey we were kids 60 some years ago, and we were at the RIVER. Who could ask for more? Well, I looked as we passed Ragged Point area of Coles Point and just imagined I was looking in the right direction. As Eddie, my brother, reminded me of fishing with a tight line for spot and croakers. If you never had the experience of line slipping through your burning fingers as you tried to retrieve your catch, then you have never been in direct contact with your catch. Only parents had rods and reels. Our fishing rig was called a tight line consisting of string, not fishing line, wound around an old cork that we would try not to get tangled up with our sinker and hook. Crazy, but we caught lots of Spot, Croakers and Trout with those tight lines. It was always fun with cousins and parents and Daddy George and Aunt Julia, Juju. Anyhow today, it was nice knowing I was somewhere close to where my Potomac River childhood memories still reside. I’ve never been up the Potomac until this trip. 60+ years, wow!

We are spending two nights in Colonial Beach and then headed across the Potomac to the Maryland side to the Blessing Of The Fleet. https://www.blessingofthefleetsomd.net

Today’s picture is looking back at Coles Point shoreline and maybe where I had so much fun with my family and cousins.


Comments