Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

Day 4 Monday May 24, 2021 Manteo Waterfront Marina

Passage - No Passage today - not until Thursday

So, what do we do in port? Well, I could tell you about networking two Garmin chart plotters with a Raymarine Autopilot and a Vesper Automatic Identification System and a Standard Horizon VHF radio with 1983 and 2000 international standards using cabling from automobile plants, and that all of these devices speak a common data language except they have their own proprietary stuff they want to say to show off to the other devices in addition to the common language. RayMarine also modified the standard cabling to make it incompatible with everything else requiring an adapter that is not easy to find. But, Nope not gonna say a word about that. I'm also not going to bore you with how many electrical crimp connectors I used to wire the 3 wires of a new bilge pump. I also am not going to tell you how I had to get the head light aimed, focus bifocals and summon all my dexterity to work at the same time. At least I didn't need my levitation powers this time.

So, we went walking around town like tourists. Right? Nope, too windy and cold. The boat feels like it is underway in this slip. The wind was blowing at the stern of the boat and had the aft spring line tight. This gives me the opportunity to tighten the now slack forward spring line. I like my springs tight so my fenders stay in place to keep the boat from rubbing the pilings. I believe I mentioned I had the most accurate docking ever Sunday with only 10" to spare in the width of the slip. I really wish I had a video of that docking. But, because the slip is so narrow It's really important that the fenders stay wedged in place to protect the hull.

We are also still organizing and stowing our summer stores in addition to the stuff we brought for this cruise. Lots of bags of stuff. Susan needed more cabinet space so I removed my Bose sub-woofer from one cabinet. I rarely play the AM/FM radio that is connected to the Bose system. We have a great sounding Sonos speaker that has Alexa built in. I know some of you are worried about Alexa listening to everything you say. I don't care because it's really cool to ask Alexa to play Rock N Roll by Led Zeppelin and she just does. My iTunes library that I've built up for years is rarely played these days being replaced by Alexa, Pandora and TuneInRadio apps.

I still need to wash the boat. Maybe tomorrow. It still has some pollen in it and of course lots of dead bugs. I sort of wish we'd have a good rain.

We had a very nice dinner ashore with fresh Mahi Mahi on a large salad. Did you know that Mahi Mahi is really a dolphin fish not the dolphin marine mammal. A restaurant, started using the Polynesian name Mahi Mahi for the dolphin fish because people thought Flipper the marine mammal from the TV show was on the menu. Go ahead and google it.

Today's picture is one of the fenders wedged between the hull and piling protecting Liquid Therapy.


Comments